Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND 182 - Art, Meaning and Perception



How to Find Books

  • Select the BOOKS link on the Library's website. In finding books for this class, use word, phrase, and subject terms relevant to your poster or paper topic.
  • When you discover a book of interest, select the "DETAILS" tab, and then the "FULL RECORD" tab to look at the assigned subject headings for that item. Note related subject headings, and click on them to find other books that are described in a similar way, and may prove useful.
  • Remember to look for call numbers in both the STACKS and the REFERENCE ROOM. Call numbers are designed to mirror themselves in these two areas. If you find a valuable book in the STACKS, you will find similar, high quality REFERENCE items under the same call number in the REFERENCE ROOM.


Selected Reference Resources - Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other helpful stuff


Use these as points of departure for background on class topics, artists, works, and interpretations. There are many other Reference books and books you can find on topics related to this course, as described above.

Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Extensive entries include artist biographies and references to scholarly work on them.
Ref N 40 .D5213 2006, vols. 1-14

Contemporary Artists
Includes entries on artists whose most significant work was created after 1960.
Ref N 6490 .C6567 1996, vols. 1 & 2

The Dictionary of Art
An excellent "first-step" resource; use for bibliographies, images, and cross-referenced entries. This is the 34-volume print version of Grove Art Online.
Ref N 31 .D5 1996, vols. 1-34

The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
A four volume encyclopedia set on topics related to "critical reflection on art, culture and nature."
Ref BH 56. E53 1998

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A regularly updated online encyclopedia of philosophy, great for background information on a topic or person.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Another continuously updated online encyclopedia of philosophy, written by current experts.

Twentieth-century Artists on Art: an index to writings, statements, and interviews
A good source for locating primary-source materials on artists and their work.
Ref NX 456 .R59 1996


Selected Image Resources


The four resources below offer high quality, legal images of artistic works. The F&M Library Guide is an especially good place to start.
ARTstor
A larger searchable image database. Research uses include viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning. Please see ARTstor's "Getting Started Guide for Students."

The Bridgeman Art Library Archive
A searchable image database.

F&M Library's Guide to Finding Images on the Web
A select interdisciplinary list of image Web sites.

Grove Art Online
Provides direct links to art works on museum Web sites.


Journal Article (Scholarly Literature) Resources


The databases below are designed to point you toward high quality, scholarly journal articles and other publications related to this class. These resources are perfect for your term paper research.
Art Full Text
Provides full text articles from international English-language arts publications. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1994 to present. Link will launch OmniFile Full Text Mega. Choose Art Full Text from Subject Area.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art)
Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Covers 1973 to the present.

MedLine
Provides access to over 12 million citations, including clinical reports and reviews, back to the mid-1960's, in all areas of medicine (including neuroscience).

Philosopher's Index
The comprehensive scholarly database covering books and journals published since 1940 in philosophy.

PsycARTICLES
Contains searchable full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and related organizations. Covers 1894 to the present.

PsycINFO
The APA's index of journals, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related fields. Covers 1887 to the present.


Need additional help?


Contact Scott Vine by email or on IM at svine35 for further assistance

Created 9/20/2007 sv
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223