Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND 172: Understanding Terrorism



REFERENCE SOURCES

Political violence and terrorism in modern America
REF HN 90 .V5 H49 2005

Historical dictionary of terrorism
REF HV 6431 .A537 2002

Encyclopedia of world terrorism
REF HV 6431 .E53 2003

Talking terrorism : a dictionary of the loaded language of political violence
REF HV 6431 .H455 2003

Terrorism : a guide to events and documents
REF HV 6431 .K698 2004

The Sage Encyclopedia of terrorism
REF HV 6431 .K883 2011

Terrorism, 1988-1991; 1992-1995; 1996-2001; 2002-2004
REF HV 6431 .M49__ a 4 volume set

Patterns of global terrorism 1985-2005 : U.S. Department of State reports
REF HV 6431 .P3773 2005

Terrorism : essential primary sources
REF HV 6431 .T465 2006

Terrorism : a documentary and reference guide
REF HV 6432 .B87 2005

International terrorism : a bibliography
REF Z 7164.T3 L34 1986



Finding BOOKS at F&M and Beyond


Search the F&M Library Catalog to discover what books, journals, reference resources, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., to which the library provides access. Click on the Books & More tab on the library web site to access the catalog.

Search WorldCat to discover books on your topic held by libraries all over the planet!

Use E-Z Borrow (a regional, expedited book-exchange service) if F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, or if we do not own the desired book. [Requires your F&M ID barcode number.]


ARTICLES and JOURNALS at F&M and Beyond

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. CIAO features a wide range of scholarship in various forms-- working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Publication dates range from 1991 to the present.

JStor
A substantial collection of scholarly journal literature in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Publication dates range from the nineteenth-century to the mid-2000s.

The New York Times, 1851-mid 2000s
The New York Times (Historical) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

PAIS International
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) is an international index to policy-oriented literature (e.g. political, economic, social) in many forms--books, journal articles, U.S. and non-U.S. government documents, etc. Publication dates range from the early 1900s to the present.

Project Muse
A contemporary scholarly journal collection featuring content from the humanities and social sciences. Publication dates range from the mid 1990s to the present.

Social Sciences (Full Text)
An index and partial article collection of journals in anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and other related fields. Publication dates range from 1983 to the present.

Social Science Citation Index
Part of the "Web of Knowledge's Web of Science," this resource indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Publication dates range from the 1960s to present.


JOURNALS, MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS @ F&M and INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)

To determine if the F&M Library provides access to a particular journal, magazine or newspaper, use the Journal Finder tab on the Library's web site. If the library does not provide access to what you need, and you have at least 1 week to 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request to have the journal item acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-5 business days for the item to arrive.


ADDITIONAL RESOURCES: "THINK-TANKS"

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Brookings Institution

Center for Strategic and International Studies

American Enterprise Institute

Council on Foreign Relations



If you have any questions, would like further assistance, etc, contact:

Lisa Stillwell, Information Literacy Librarian,
717-291-3844 or lisa.stillwell@fandm.edu

Last updated: 10/12 ls

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223