Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND 163: 1968: Global Texts and Contexts



REFERENCE RESOURCES

American decades primary sources
REF E 169.1 .A471977 2004

The sixties in America
REF E 169.12 .A51

Historical dictionary of the Czech State
REF DB 2007 .H63 1998

French culture and society
REF DC 33.7 .F7265 2001

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War : a political, social, and military history
REF DS 557.7 .E53 2000

Historical dictionary of revolutionary China, 1839-1976
REF DS 740.2 .H57 1992

Mexico : an encyclopedia of contemporary culture and history
REF F 1234 .C67 2004


F&M LIBRARY CATALOG, WORLDCAT and E-Z BORROW

Search the F&M Library Catalog to find out what books, journals, reference resources, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

*Library of Congress Subject Language for primary material found by searching catalogs:
documents, interviews, correspondence, letters, speeches, diaries, narratives, sources, collections


Search WorldCat to discover books on your topic held by libraries all over the planet!

Use E-Z Borrow (a regional, expedited book-exchange service) if F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, or if we do not own the desired book. [Requires your F&M ID barcode number.]


INDEXES AND ARTICLE COLLECTIONS

Alternative Press Index

Alternative Press Index Archive
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines; covering cultural, economic, political & social change.

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

JStor
A collection of abstracts and articles from core scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century up through last 5 -7 years.

New York Times--Archive
The New York Times (Sep 18, 1851 - Dec 31, 2006, full-text) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

PAIS International

PAIS Archive
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) is a database chronicling global public policy and social issues.

Project Muse
Collection of contemporary scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Features comprehensive indexing of 500 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890 through 1982.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields.


JOURNALS, MAGAZINES and NEWSPAPERS @ F&M and INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL) To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use the JOURNALS: search our catalog of print and online journals feature on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week to 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.



If you have any questions, would like further assistance, etc, contact:

Lisa Stillwell, Information Literacy Librarian,
291-3844 or lisa.stillwell@fandm.edu

Last updated: 3/10 ls
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223