Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND 160: Science and Pseudo-Science



Locating Books

Online Catalog
Try a variety of subject headings and keywords to come up with items relevant to your chosen topic.



Reference Sources - for background information

AccessScience
Full access to more than 7100 articles, 115,000 definitions, 2,000 biographies, and research advances in science and technology. Updated daily.

Credo Reference
A digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing 100 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts and literature to technology.

Oxford Reference Online
The largest, most up-to-date, authoritative, and accessible reference work in the world. This huge resource contains almost 2 million words and phrases from Oxford's English language and bilingual dictionaries.



Scholarly Databases and Full Text Resources

Annual Reviews
Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.

General Science Full Text
Indexes and abstracts 150 English-language periodicals in all areas of the sciences.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles from US and international papers, news magazines, business publications, and legal resources. Coverage goes back at least 20 years for most titles.

OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources. Coverage back as early as 1982.

Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
Key index to articles from major journals in all areas of science and technology. Use to find other articles citing a specific article (footnotes in reverse). Covers 1965 to the present.

Last updated: 11/10/11 sv contact Scott Vine (291-3840) for assistance.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223