Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND 140: Informed Opinions



Locating Books

Online Catalog
Try a variety of subject headings including: weapons of mass destruction, military weapons, nuclear weapons.


Indexes, Abstracts and Full Text Resources

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes full-text of articles, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs.

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Connections to full-text newspaper articles from US and international papers, news magazines, business publications, and legal resources. Coverage goes back at least 20 years for most titles.

PAIS International
Comprehensive subject index to periodical articles, books, government publications, and reports relating to economic and social conditions, public administration and global relations. 1914 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.

Recommended Periodical
Bulletin of the atomic scientists
Available from 1999-present, 1994-present and 1945-1998

Government Resources

FDsys
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.

Congressional Committee Hearings
Provides links to the full text of the transcripts of selected House and Senate committee hearings, 1995 to the present.

GPO Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
An index for federal publications that provides direct links to those documents that are available online. Covers July 1976 to the present.

Thomas (Legislative Information from the Library of Congress)
A major source for finding bills, public laws, and other congressional materials.


Internet Sources

Federation of American Scientists
http://www.fas.org/

Global Security Organization
http://www.globalsecurty.org/wmd/world/idex.html/

U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/

International Atomic Energy Agency
http://www.iaea.org

U.S. Energy Information Administration
http://www.eia.doe.gov


Reference Sources - International Relations

Encyclopedia of Arms Control and Disarmament 3 vols.
Ref. Balcony JX 1974 .E57 1993

Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Ref. Balcony JZ 1160 .E53 2005

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations 4 vols.
Ref. Balcony JZ 1160 .N65 2002

International Law: A dictionary
Ref. Balcony KZ 1161 . B63 2005

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements, 3rd Ed. 4 vols.
Ref. Balcony KZ 4968 .O84 2003

Strategic Survey
U 162 .S77 2011 - most recent edition in Reference

Weapons of Mass Destruction: An Encyclopedia of Worldwide Policy, Technology, and History 2 vols.
Ref. U 793 .W427 2005

Vol. 1 - Chemical and Biological Weapons; Vol. 2 - Nuclear Weapons

Military Balance
UA 15 .L65 2010 - most recent edition in Reference

World Armaments, Disarmament and National Security: SIPRI yearbook
UA 10 .S69A 2010 - most recent edition in Reference


Reference Sources - Country Information

Europa Year Book
Ref. Desk D2 .E8 2011 2 vols. - older editions in the stacks

The Contemporary Middle East: A Documentary History
Ref. DS 42 .F44 2008

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa 4 vols.
Ref. DS 43 .E53 2004

Middle East and North Africa 2010
Ref. DS 49 .M5 2010

Iran Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Islamic Republic 2 vols.
Ref. DS 253 .I69 2008

Historical Dictionary of Iran, 2nd Ed.
Ref. DS 270 .L67 2007


Reference Sources - Science Information

Searches work on the F&M network. Use VPN to connect from off-campus.

Oxford Reference Online


Search Oxford Reference Online

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

AccessScience
Full access to more than 7100 articles, 115,000 definitions, 2,000 biographies, and research advances in science and technology. Updated daily.


Last updated: 2/1/12 tk contact Laura Eiford (291-3843) OR Tom Karel (291-3845) for assistance
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223