Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND 129/MSS 137: The Nature of Hope



Locating Books

Online Catalog
Try a variety of subject headings and keywords to come up with items relevant to your chosen topic.


Scholarly Databases and Full Text Resources

ATLA Religion Index
Comprehensive database in religious and theological scholarship. Includes index citations, journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Covers from 1949 to the present.

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present. Includes some full text.

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 1500 scholarly journals considered primary representatives of their disciplines. Select Advanced Search to search strategically amongst 45 subject areas. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles.

Philosopher's Index
The comprehensive scholarly database covering book and journals since 1940 in philosophy.

PsycARTICLES
Contains more than 100,000 searchable full text articles from 57 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. Covers 1894 to the present.

PsycINFO
The APA's index of journals, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related fields. Includes indexing from Psychological Abstracts. Covers 1840 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1965 to the present.


Useful Services from the College Library

InterLibrary Loan
Request articles, books and other resources from other institutions.

Research Assistance
In the left column, email, chat or text a reference librarian for help, or make a research appointment.

Last updated: 2/16/10 sv contact Scott Vine at 291/3840 or via IM at svine35 for assistance.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223