Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND111W: Nature of Oceans



Indexes and Abstracts

Search many scholarly journals and publishers at once.

AGRICOLA
Over 2.9 million records covering every major agricultural subject. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Biological Abstracts
A comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. Covers 1926 to the present.

GeoRef
Nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. Covers 1785 to present (North America) and 1933 to present (worldwide).

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1965 to the present.


Full-text

The Library provides access to many journals online and in print.

For best results:
1. Find a citation. Use Web of Science, Biological Abstracts, or other indexes (above).
2. Go to Journal Finder and enter the journal title in the E-Journal Portal.
3. From the results, navigate to the journal title, year, volume, issue and page number of the article.
4. If the no results appear, try the Journal Finder Journals List (top search box).
5. If the Library does not subscribe to the journal (or your article), you may be able to get it through Interlibrary Loan.

Popular full-text sources are listed below:

Annual Reviews
Collection of reviews (secondary literature) on a variety of science topics. Reviews provide detailed overviews (historical development, major research) of a field. Coverage from 1984 - 1994 (abstracts only), 1995 - present (full-text).

BioOne
Searchable collection of 60+ bioscience research journals published by scholarly societies. Access to individual journal titles can also be found on the Biology "by Subject" page.

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.

JSTOR
A collection of full-text articles from over 1500 scholarly journals, dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. Use Advanced Search to strategically search. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles.


Government Sources

FDSys
Links to current laws, bills, regulations, Supreme Court cases, and more US Government information.

USA.gov
Links to federal agency web sites.


Books and Reference Sources

Library Catalog
Excellent starting point to find book and periodical resources found in the libraries. Try searching subjects like fisheries and fishes.

For ideas or definitions, try the following reference books:

Encyclopedia of Aquaculture
Sci Ref SH20.3 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, 5 vols.
Sci Ref QH541.15 .B56 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Marine Science
Sci Ref GC9 .N53 2009

Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, 6 vols.
Sci Ref GC9.15 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere, 11 vols.
Sci Ref QH343.4 .B5613 2000

Interdisciplinary Encyclopedia of Marine Sciences, 3 vols.
Sci Ref GC9 .I58 2002


Internet Resources

Yahoo-Science-Agriculture-Aquaculture

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

United Nations. Food and Agriculture Organization. Fisheries & Aquaculture Dept.
Regional Fisheries Management Councils
Mid Atlantic
New England
South Atlantic
Gulf of Mexico
Pacific
North Pacific
Western Pacific
Caribbean
Last updated: 1/18/12 le contact Laura Eiford for assistance, 291-3843.
 

©2012 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223