Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND 111V: Energy Issues in Science and Society



Indexes and Abstracts

General Science Full Text
Indexes and abstracts 150 English-language periodicals in all areas of the sciences.

PAIS International
Comprehensive subject index to periodical articles, books, government publications, and reports relating to economic and social conditions, public administration and global relations. 1972 to the present.

Catalog of Government Publications
An index of all federal government publications from 1976 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts over 400 English-language periodicals in all areas of the social sciences, including politics and economics.

INSPEC
A comprehensive index, with abstracts, to the journal literature of physics.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles from US and international papers, news magazines, business publications, and legal resources. Coverage goes back at least 20 years for most titles.


Internet Resources

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
Published in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly
CQ Weekly covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else, fully archived to 1983. Get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.

GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/
Links to current laws, bills, regulations, Supreme Court cases, and more US Government information.

USA.gov
http://www.usa.gov/
Links to federal agency web sites and consumer information.

THOMAS Legislative Service
http://thomas.loc.gov/
An excellent site to obtain current information on congressional bills and public laws.

Science.gov
http://www.science.gov/
Links to federal agency web sites that deal with the sciences.

Department of Energy
http://www.energy.gov/
The official web page of the department; there are sections on Energy Sources, Energy Efficiency, and Prices & Trends.

U.S. Energy Information Administration
http://www.eia.doe.gov/

Department of Energy's Information Bridge
http://www.osti.gov/bridge/
This database provides the full text or citations to over 200,000 DOE reports.

Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/
The official web page of the EPA.

EPA's Global Warming Site
http://www.epa.gov/globalwarming/
An official overview of the global warming situation.

BPAmoco
http://www.bp.com
Links to the Statistical Review of World Energy

International Energy Association
http://www.iea.org/

OECD Statistics
http://www.oecd.org/
Data can be retrieved by topic or for any of the 30 member countries.


Reference Sources

Energy Dictionary
SCI REF TJ163.2 H87
Features include an overview essay, some illustrations and a bibliography.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Energy
SCI REF TJ163.28 M3 2000
Includes over 300 articles written by specialists arranged in two parts: Energy Perspectives and Energy Technology. Bibliographies included.

Statistical Yearbook. Annuaire Statistique. (United Nations) annual
REF HA12.5 U63
Provides country data on production, trade and consumption of commercial energy and production of selected energy commodities.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies
Sci Ref QH 540.4 .A84 1991
Brief entries on all aspects of environment. Includes bibliographies and suggestions for further readings.


Government Sources

United States Code
Ref Balcony KF 62 1994 .A2
The laws of the United States, codified into 50 different "titles" or subject areas. Many of the energy laws are found in Title 42, "Public Health and Welfare." Chapter 84, for example, deals with the Department of Energy. Also available on GPO Access.

Congressional Bills
Bills from 1993 to the present are available on GPO Access.

Congressional Committee Hearings
U.S. Doc. Y4 ....
Printed transcripts of hearings before House and Senate committees on a variety of topics. Search for "energy policy" or "oil supply." Recent hearings are also available online through GPO Access.

Code of Federal Regulations
Ref Balcony KF 70 .A3
The regulations of the departments and agencies of the United States, codified into 50 titles. Title 10 deals with Energy. The current edition is also available on GPO Access.

Federal Register
Docs AE 2.106:
Published daily (Monday-Friday), this contains the proposed regulations and final rules from the departments and agencies of the US government. This is a good source to see what the impact of energy policy really is. Material from 1994 to the present is available on GPO Access. Only the most recent two years of the FR are retained in paper copy by the library.

Publications from the Department of Energy
Science Library Docs E.....
A variety of reports, manuals, and statistical compilations. Many of these documents are also available online.

Monthly Energy Review
microfilm (1978-98) and, http://www.eia.doe.gov/mer
Issued by the Energy Information Administration, Office of Energy Markets and End Use, U.S. Department of Energy. Contains current and historical statistics on U.S. production, storage, imports and consumption of petroleum, natural gas and coal. Website provides the latest issue and historical information.

Annual Energy Review
http://www.eia.doe.gov/emeu/aer/contents.html

International Energy Annual.
SCI TJ163.13 I573 and SCI DOC E 3.11/20:date (microfiche) and
http://www.eia.doe.gov/emeu/iea/contents.html
Website provides most recent issue and historical data.

International Energy Outlook
SCI DOC E 3.11/20-3:date (paper with more recent on microfiche)
Related projections available at http://www.eia.doe.gov/oiaf/ieo/index.html

Publications from the Environmental Protection Agency
Science Library Docs EP.....
A variety of reports, manuals, and studies - some are on microfiche.


Last updated: 2/19/09 tk, contact Ask Us, 291-4217, or Tom Karel, 291-3845. for assistance.

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223