Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


FND 111P: Global Change



Locating Books

Online Catalog
Try a variety of subject headings including: climate change, global warming, greenhouse gases, ozone depletion, power sources, renewable energy sources, fertilizers, pesticides, sustainable agriculture, genetically modified foods, groundwater, infants - mortality, life expectancy, overpopulation, public health - developing countries, public health - anthropological aspects, migrations, deforestation, salinization and biodiversity. Try keywords too including: megafaunal extinctions, sustainability, green revolution, "agrarian and class", "agrarian and war". "agrarian and nutrition" and "little ice age".



Background

The ABC-CLIO Companion to the Environmental Movement
Sci Ref GE 197 .G76 1994
A detailed guide to the American conservation and environmental movement throughout history; includes much biographical information and good bibliographies.

AccessScience
Full access to more than 7100 articles, 115,000 definitions, 2,000 biographies, and research advances in science and technology. Updated daily.

Atlas of Global Change
Sci Ref GE 149 .G4813 1998
Color photographs highlight the diversity of landscapes, structures, forms, and colors. Intended to raise our awareness of natural processes and the consequences of human intervention.

Conservation and Environmentalism: an Encyclopedia
Sci Ref GE 10 .C68 1995
Information about issues, surveys, organizations, academic disciplines, government, publications. Arranged alphabetically, indexed. Signed articles include bibliographies.

Dictionary of Environment and Development
Sci Ref GE 10 .C78 1993
Brief entries on prominent people, places, ideas and environmental organizations. A good place to find comprehensive definitions.

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Sci Ref QH 541.15 .B56 E53 2001
Covers plant and animal diversity, loss, change and range ecology.

Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
Sci Ref QC854 .E523 1996

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
Sci Ref QH540.4 .E526 1999

Encyclopedia of Global Change
Sci Ref GE149 .E443 2002

Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society
Sci Ref GE149 .E47 2002

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Sci Ref QC981 .G58 E47 2008

Encyclopedia of Population
Ref HB871 .E538 2003

Encyclopedia of Public Health
Sci Ref RA .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
Sci Ref QH 343.4 .B5613 2000
Each volume address a different biome. Many color pictures and illustrations.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences
Sci Ref QE5 .E5137 1996

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Energy
SCI REF TJ163.2 M3
Includes over 300 articles written by specialists arranged in two parts: Energy Perspectives and Energy Technology. Bibliographies included.

National Audubon Society Almanac of the Environment
Sci Ref GE 195.7 .H37
Subtitled the Ecology of Everyday Life. Chapters include Body, Home, Community, Land and Ocean, and Cultural Ecology. Written in a chatty, non-technical manner. Clearly biased toward the conservation movement. Indexed.

Oxford Companian to Global Change
Sci Ref GE149 .C84 2009

The State of the Earth Atlas
Ref Atlas G 1046 .G3S4 1990
Contains world maps with graphic depictions of environmental topics (such as the extent of the rain forest, safe drinking water, population).

UNEP Year Book
Sci Ref TD194.6 .G46 2008



Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews
Searchable full-text access to annual reviews in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
Search by "table of contents." Coverage from 1984 - 1995.
Search abstracts only. Coverage from 1990 -1993.
Search the full-text of current volumes (1996 - present)

Selected list of Related Annual Reviews
Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics
Annual Review of Environment and Resources


Indexes & Article Collections

AGRICOLA
Over 2.9 million records covering every major agricultural subject. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Covers 1970 to the present.

Biological Abstracts
A comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. Covers over 4,200 journals from 100 countries with dates from 1926 to the present. Enables simultaneous searching with Web of Science and Medline.

Biological & Agricultural Index via OmniFile Full Text Mega
Indexes nearly 250 domestic and international English-language periodicals with life sciences and agricultural subjects. Includes book reviews. Covers 1983 to the present.

BioOne
Searchable full text aggregation of more than 154 bioscience research journals. The titles are published by scholarly societies and have formerly been available in print. Access to individual journal titles can also be found on the Biology "by Subject" page.

FirstSearch
A collection of over 36 subject-specific indexes and databases (most are listed here).

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.

GEOBASE
More than 1.8 million records covering international literature on geology, geography, and ecology. Covers 1980 to present.

GeoRefS
Over 2.7 million records about geology and earth sciences. Covers 1785 to the present (North America) and 1933 to the present (entire world).

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 1500 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law).

PAIS International
Index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present.

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1965 to the present.



Government Resources

EPA
Links to Environmental Protection Agency's web site.

EPA's Global Change Site

United States Global Change Research Program
Integrates federal research on climate and global change.

USA.gov
Links to federal agency web sites.

Science.gov
Searches authoritative U.S. government science information including R&D.

GPO Access
An index for federal publications that provides direct links to those documents that are available online. Covers July 1976 to the present.

Annual Energy Review
http://www.eia.doe.gov/emeu/aer/contents.html

International Energy Annual.
SCI TJ163.13 I573 and SCI DOC E 3.11/20:date (microfiche) and
http://www.eia.doe.gov/emeu/iea/contents.html
Website provides most recent issue and historical data.

International Energy Outlook
SCI DOC E 3.11/20-3:date (paper with more recent on microfiche)
Related projections available at http://www.eia.doe.gov/oiaf/ieo/index.html



Internet Resources

A. Search Engines/Portals

B. Criteria to consider when evaluating Web sites:

    1. Authority: Who is responsible for the content? Are they an expert on the topic? Does the author identify her/him/them-self?

    2. Objectivity: Why was the site created? Is the information presented with a minimum of bias? Is the site meant to persuade the reader?

    3. Content: What is presented? Is the content focused, or does it stray all over the place? Is the site appropriate for research/scholarly purposes? Is the design of the site more important than the content?

    4. Accuracy: Does the site feature a list of sources, or bibliography, or links to other similar sites? Are other authorities cited?

    5. Currency: Is the web site current? Is it currently being maintained? Is there indication of when it was last updated anywhere on the page?

* TIP: When using a web site for research, print a copy of the first page for verification. Web sites come and go easily!


Last updated: 8/18/09 dr, contact Ask Us for assistance, 291-4217

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223