Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ENV 320: Environmental Law



Finding Books

Library Catalog
Excellent starting point to find books, videos, and maps in the libraries. Search the subject: Environmental Law or Environmental Policy.


Reference Sources

Europa World Yearbook
Ref Desk D 2 .E8 2013

The Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd Ed.
Sci Ref GE10 .E38 2003

The Environmental Resource Handbook
Sci Ref GE20 .E657 2011-12

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
Sci Ref GE 170 .I55 2002

Encyclopedia of the U. S. Government and the Environment: History, Policy, and Politics 2 vols.
Sci Ref GE 180 .E53 2011

Worldmark Encyclopedia of U. S.and Canadian Environmental Issues
Sci Ref GE 197 .W67 2012

Dictionary and Introduction to Global Environmental Governance
Ref HC79 .E5 .S2675 2007

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society 5 vols.
Ref HM 856 .E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Law and Society 3 vols.
Ref Balcony K 583 .E53 2007

International Environmental Disputes
Ref Balcony K 3585 .S388 2006

Federal Regulatory Directory, 15th Ed.
Ref Balcony KF 5406 .A15 F4 2012

Guide to the U. S. Supreme Court, 5th Ed. 2 vols.
Ref Balcony KF 8742 .W567 2011


Indexes, Abstracts & Full-Text Resources

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
Published in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly
CQ Weekly covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else, fully archived to 1983. Get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.

General Science Full Text
Indexes and abstracts 150 English-language periodicals in all areas of the sciences.

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1980 to the present.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law).

NewsBank
Full-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including newspapers from specific countries. Coverage varies, 5 to 20 years.

Westlaw, Campus Research
Research service, includes: thousands of news databases arranged geographically and topically; hundreds of newswires as well as business, trade and professional journals and publications; and superior law-related resources, including both primary law and analysis.


Internet Resources

Environmental News Network
Connections to current news stories, feature articles and special environmental reports.

Environmental Protection Agency
The official web page of the EPA.

Regulations.gov
Easy access to proposed regulations.

Science.gov
Gateway to authoritative science information provided by government agencies.

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations

International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

International Institute for Sustainable Development
This is the organization that provides the Earth Negotiations Bulletin - see under Reporting Services.

Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit Sharing
This site provides background information on the Nagoya Protocol and a discussion of unresolved issues.

Kyoto Protocol
A brief overview of the Protocol and its current status.

Yahoo Environment Links
A variety of environmental organizations are listed under the "Environmental and Development Policies" section.

Yahoo-Government Links
A variety of government links can be found in the Yahoo menus; you can also do free-text searching for scientific or environmental topics on Yahoo.

Yahoo-Science-Science and Society-Science and Technology Policy links
Includes links to a variety of governmental and organizational sites.


Government Publications

United States Statutes at Large
Ref. Balcony KF 50 .U52 (1893 - )
This is the first permanent form of federal laws. One or more volumes are compiled for each legislative session. Recent laws are issued in "slip" format, arranged by Public Law number. Public Laws from 1995 to the present are available on FDSys.

United States Code
Ref. Balcony KF 62 1992 .A2
This is the official codification of all federal laws, divided into 50 subject areas (or titles). Specific subject indexing is included, as well as a listing of the laws by popular names. Title 16 deals with Conservation. Also available on FDSys.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Ref. Balcony KF 70 .A34
This is a subject accumulation of rules currently in force, also divided into 50 titles (most of which do not correspond to the titles in the United States Code). The CFR is "a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government." Title 40 deals with Protection of the Environment, and Title 50 is Wildlife and Fisheries. There is a separate index volume to the CFR. The current edition is also available on FDSys.

Federal Register
U.S. Doc. AE 2.106, Ground Floor
Published five days a week, this contains news of Executive rules and all presidential proclamations, rules and regulations of the various bureaus and departments of the federal government, decisions of fact-finding bodies, and all proposed regulations. Material from 1994 to the present is available on FDSys. Only the most recent two years of the FR are retained in paper copy by the library.

Federal Register 2.0
This is the new official gateway into the current issue of the FR. Back issues can also be searched and browsed from this site.

FDSys (Federal Digital System)
A service of the US Government Printing Office and the Superintendent of Documents, this provides access to a wealth of current government information. It includes online access to Presidential documents, public laws, Supreme Court opinions, and federal regulations.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
An index for federal publications that provides direct links to those documents that are available online. Covers July 1976 to the present.

USA.gov
Links to federal agency web sites.

Last updated: 2/24/14 tk contact Ask Us, 291-4217, or Tom Karel, 291-3845. for assistance.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223