Email/Text UsEmail or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu and we’ll answer ASAP. Archives & Special Collections can be reached at archives@fandm.edu. Chat With UsAsk us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
SUN - THURS 11am-5pm & 7pm-2am
Frequently Asked of UsCheck our FAQ for answers to popular questions. |
Visit or Call UsStop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at: Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217 Meet With UsStudents can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance. Grad Schools & JobsStudents can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities. |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
|
ENV226 - Surface of the EarthThis is list of starting points for your research. Resources are available through the Library or online. Contents
Basic InformationDefinitions, Dictionaries and EncyclopediasEncyclopedia Britannica OnlineSearches work on the F&M network. Use VPN to connect from off-campus Oxford Reference OnlineBooksBooks are a great place to start your research. They are usually more broad and comprehensive than journal articles and can help you understand your topic before further searching. For more books, search the Library Catalog. Start with a subject or keyword search on a broad subject.
If you cannot find enough on your topic, try searching WorldCat, a worldwide catalog of library books. You can then use EZ-Borrow or Interlibrary Loan to get the book. Find an ArticleWhat to look for ... Scientific LiteratureScientists communicate and document their research in a very specific way.
The scientific journal article (peer-reviewed article, primary literature) is designed to allow each reader to critically evaluate the content.
All the information needed to evaluate the conclusion is included in the article. In addition, most scientific journals are peer-reviewed. Standard for ComparisonWhen you use other sources of information, ask yourself how the source compares to a journal article.If it doesn't have the built-in checks and authority of a journal article, what advantages does it have that make it worth using instead of a journal article? How to look ... Search Strategies
STEP 1 State your research topic or question in one or two sentences. Where to look ... Indexes and Abstract DatabasesThe library provides two types of databases. Citation databases (or indexes) allow you to search many, many articles by different publishers, in different journals, in one place. Full-text databases allow you to read the articles, but usually only search one publisher or a few journal titles. Searches work on the F&M network. Use VPN to connect from off-campus
Get Full-TextThe Library provides access to over many journal titles specifically for Geology and many more with some Geology content. More Resources and WebsitesGovernment DocumentsFranklin & Marshall College is a selective depository for the United States federal documents. We house many USGS (United States Geological Survey) maps and documents on the 2nd floor.
To search the USGS collection, go to FDSys or the USGS website. F&M does not have all of the USGS documents. Topographic maps and some others are available for download at the USGS Map Locator. For more maps, visit the Martin Map Collection (2nd Floor). Newspapers & Popular Science Journals
Websites
Citations and How to CiteEach citation contains the information needed to identify a journal article (authors, article title, journal title, volume, issue, page numbers). Many different styles are used. For more information go to the Science (AAAS) Reference Style. Last updated: 9/14/11 le, contact
Laura Eiford for assistance, 291-3843.
|