Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ENV 216: Environmental Policy



Locating Books

Online Catalog
Excellent starting point to find books, videos and maps in the libraries. Search the subject: Environmental Policy.


Government Resources

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
An index for federal publications that provides direct links to those documents that are available online. Covers July 1976 to the present.

United States Statutes at Large
Ref. Balcony KF 50 .U52 (1893 - )
This is the first permanent form of federal laws. One or more volumes are compiled for each legislative session. Recent laws are issued in "slip" format, arranged by Public Law number. Public Laws from 1995 to the present are available on FDSys.

United States Code
Ref. Balcony KF 62 1992 .A2
This is the official codification of all federal laws, divided into 50 subject areas (or titles). Specific subject indexing is included, as well as a listing of the laws by popular names. Title 16 deals with Conservation. Also available on FDSys.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Ref. Balcony KF 70 .A34
This is a subject accumulation of rules currently in force, also divided into 50 titles (most of which do not correspond to the titles in the United States Code). The CFR is "a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government." Title 40 deals with Protection of the Environment, and Title 50 is Wildlife and Fisheries. There is a separate index volume to the CFR. The current edition is also available on FDSys.

Federal Register
U.S. Doc. AE 2.106, Ground Floor
Published five days a week, this contains news of Executive rules and all presidential proclamations, rules and regulations of the various bureaus and departments of the federal government, decisions of fact-finding bodies, and all proposed regulations. Material from 1994 to the present is available on FDSys. Only the most recent two years of the FR are retained in paper copy by the library.

Federal Register 2.0
This is the new official gateway into the current issue of the FR. Back issues can also be searched and browsed from this site.

Congressional Committee Hearings
Most hearings, from 1997 to the present, are available here. The library also has a vast print collection of hearings in the documents stacks on the Ground Floor - in the Y4 classification.

Thomas (Legislative Information from the Library of Congress)
A major source for finding bills, public laws, and other congressional materials.


Indexes, Abstracts and Full Text Resources

AGRICOLA
Over 2.9 million records covering every major agricultural subject. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Covers 1970 to the present.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes full-text of articles, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs.

General Science Full Text
Indexes and abstracts 150 English-language periodicals in all areas of the sciences.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles from US and international papers, news magazines, business publications, and legal resources. Coverage goes back at least 20 years for most titles.

PAIS International
Comprehensive subject index to periodical articles, books, government publications, and reports relating to economic and social conditions, public administration and global relations. 1972 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts over 400 English-language periodicals in all areas of the social sciences, including politics and economics.

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1980 to the present.


Reference Sources

Conservation and Environmentalism: An Encyclopedia
Sci Ref GE 10 .C68 1995

Climate Refugees
Ref GF 71 . C57 2010

The Environment A-Z
Sci Ref GE 10 .H67 2001

The Environmental Encyclopedia
Sci Ref GE 10 .E38 2003

The Environmental Resource Handbook
Sci Ref GE 20 .E657 2011-12

Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An Encyclopedia
Ref GF 50 .J65 2003

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
Sci Ref GE 170 .I55 2002

World Resources: A Report by the World Resources Institute and the International Institute for Environment and Development
Ref HC 59 .W667 2008


Internet Resources

Science.gov
A gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results

Environmental News Network
Connections to current news stories, feature articles and special environmental reports.

Environmental Protection Agency
The official web page of the EPA.

National Science Foundation

Office of Science and Technology Policy

Regulations.gov
Easy access to proposed regulations.

Yahoo Environment Links
A variety of environmental organizations are listed under the "Environmental and Development Policies" section.

Yahoo-Government Links
A variety of government links can be found in the Yahoo menus; you can also do free-text searching for scientific or environmental topics on Yahoo.

Yahoo-Science-Science and Society-Science and Technology Policy links
Includes links to a variety of governmental and organizational sites.

Last updated: 2/12/14 tk, contact Laura Eiford (291-3843) or Tom Karel (291-3845)
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223