Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ENV 170: Tooth and Claw: Conserving Ecosystems with Predators



F&M Library Catalog

Search the catalog to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

To find a book, begin by conducting a Keyword search our your topic. Analyze your topic or research question and break it down into its key concepts, which becomes the Keyword search. Once you have found a record for an item that looks useful, click on a Subject Heading to retrieve other items with similar content.

Try a variety of subject headings and keywords including: predatory animals, wildlife, endangered ecosystems, and ecosystems.


Background

AccessScience
Full access to more than 7100 articles, 115,000 definitions, 2,000 biographies, and research advances in science and technology. Updated daily.

Atlas of Global Change
Sci Ref GE 149 .G4813 1998
Color photographs highlight the diversity of landscapes, structures, forms, and colors. Intended to raise our awareness of natural processes and the consequences of human intervention.

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Sci Ref QH 541.15 .B56 E53 2001
Covers plant and animal diversity, loss, change and range ecology.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
Sci Ref QH 540.4 .E526 1999

Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society
Sci Ref GE 149 .E47 2002

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Sci Ref QC 981 .G58 E47 2008

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
Sci Ref QH 343.4 .B5613 2000
Each volume address a different biome. Many color pictures and illustrations.

International Wildlife Encyclopedia, 3rd Edition
Sci Ref QL 9 .B796 2002

UNEP Year Book
Sci Ref TD 194.6 .G46 2008


Annual Reviews

Annual Review of Environment and Resources
Useful source for gaining background knowledge, learning about historical developments of a concept nd become familiar with major researchers in an area. Extensive bibliographies are particularly helpful. Use both subject and chapter title indexes. SCI TJ163.2 .A55



Indexes & Article Collections

AGRICOLA
Over 2.9 million records covering every major agricultural subject. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Covers 1970 to the present.

Biological Abstracts
A comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. Covers over 4,200 journals from 100 countries with dates from 1926 to the present. Enables simultaneous searching with Web of Science and Medline.

Biological & Agricultural Index via OmniFile Full Text Mega
Indexes nearly 250 domestic and international English-language periodicals with life sciences and agricultural subjects. Includes book reviews. Covers 1983 to the present.

BioOne
Searchable full text aggregation of more than 154 bioscience research journals. The titles are published by scholarly societies and have formerly been available in print. Access to individual journal titles can also be found on the Biology "by Subject" page.

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.

GEOBASE
More than 1.8 million records covering international literature on geology, geography, and ecology. Covers 1980 to present.

GeoRef
Nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. Covers 1785 to the present (North America) and 1933 to the present (entire world).

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 1500 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law).

PAIS International
Index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present.

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1965 to the present.


Government Resources

EPA
Links to Environmental Protection Agency's web site.

EPA's Global Change Site

United States Global Change Research Program
Integrates federal research on climate and global change.

USA.gov
Links to federal agency web sites.

Science.gov
Searches authoritative U.S. government science information including R&D.

Catalog of U. S. Government Publications
An index for federal publications that provides direct links to those documents that are available online. Covers July 1976 to the present.

GPO Access
A service of the US Government Printing Office and the Superintendent of Documents, this provides access to a wealth of current government information. It includes online access to Presidential documents, public laws, Supreme Court opinions, and federal regulations.



Internet Resources


Criteria to consider when evaluating Web sites:

    1. Authority: Who is responsible for the content? Are they an expert on the topic? Does the author identify her/him/them-self?

    2. Objectivity: Why was the site created? Is the information presented with a minimum of bias? Is the site meant to persuade the reader?

    3. Content: What is presented? Is the content focused, or does it stray all over the place? Is the site appropriate for research/scholarly purposes? Is the design of the site more important than the content?

    4. Accuracy: Does the site feature a list of sources, or bibliography, or links to other similar sites? Are other authorities cited?

    5. Currency: Is the web site current? Is it currently being maintained? Is there indication of when it was last updated anywhere on the page?

* TIP: When using a web site for research, print a copy of the first page for verification. Web sites come and go easily!


Last updated: 9/2/10 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845 or Ask Us for assistance, 291-4217

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223