Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


GEO/ENV 114C: Earth, Environment and Humanity


Print materials can provide EXCELLENT background information, so that you might search newspaper and journal databases more productively.

Many more online encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found at Subject Guides: Earth & Environment.

And Research Tips can be a good resource to learn how to evaluate materials and how to develop an annotated bibliography.


Reference Resources & Books

Encyclopedia of sustainability
Ref GE10 .C65 2010 V.1-3

Emerging biological threats : a reference guide
Ref RA643 .C263 2010

Encyclopedia of global warming
Ref QC981.8 .G56 E46 2010 V.1-3

The encyclopedia of weather and climate change : a complete visual guide
Ref QC854 .F79 2010

The atlas of climate change : mapping the world's greatest challenge
Ref QC981.8 .C5 D69 2006

Library Catalog
Try searching "words or phrase" first, then take a look at the various Subject Headings to lead you to related materials. Searches could be limited for location, such as Media Services for audio or video recordings.

Sample searches:

climate change AND human AND activity
climate change AND (trends OR projections)


Online Resources

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
Published in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. You can view and search across all of our CQ resources here.

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Global Researcher
Provides a comprehensive snapshot of today's most pressing global issues, with focused, readable, single-topic reports. Written by seasoned journalists with years of international experience, report sections include "Current Situation", "Pro/Con", and a new feature called "Voices from Abroad." You can view and search across all of our CQ resources here.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law). For Mac Users - Please use Safari or Google Chrome as your browser.

Readers' Guide Full Text
Indexes over 200 popular U.S. general interest periodicals. Covers 1983 to the present.

General Science Full Text
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1993 to present.

JStor
A collection of abstracts and articles from scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. You can search for both Articles from many Ecology, Geology, General Science and Public Policy journal titles.

FDsys
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.

WorldCat
The OCLC Online Union Catalog. Over 80 million records of many types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. Updated daily. You may need to use Interlibrary Loan or E-Z Borrow to obtain books from other libraries.

Last updated: 9/27/11 ag, contact Andy Gulati for assistance, 291-4261

 

©2011 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223