Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ENG 162: America from Outside




Reference Resources


American Eras (through the 19th c.)
REF E 169.1 .A4719

Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History
REF E 169.1 .E624 2001

Encyclopedia of the U. S. in the Nineteenth Century
REF E 169.1 .E626

American Decades (the 20th c.)
REF E 169.12 .A419

Encyclopedia of American historical documents
REF E 173 .E54 2004

Dictionary of American History
REF E 174 .D52 2003

Colonial America to 1763
REF E 188 .P86 1999

Encyclopedia of the New American Nation...1754-1829
REF E 301 .E53 2006

Encyclopedia of American Social History
REF HN 57 .E58 1993

Gale Literary Index

Literature and Its Times
REF PN 50 .L574

Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800
REF PN 86 .L53

Dictionary of Literary Biography
REF PN 451 .D5

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
REF PN 761 .N5

Contemporary Literary Criticism
REF PN 771 .C59

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
REF PN 771 .G27

Literature Criticism Online

Contemporary Authors



Where to Discover BOOKS @ F&M and Beyond


Choose the Books & More tab on the library home page. Click on "More Search Options" to access all catalog search functions.

If you need or would like to discover more books after searching the F&M Library Catalog, search WorldCat, a global library catalog.

Use E-Z Borrow, a regional expedited book-sharing network, to borrow books not available at F&M. [E-Z Borrow requires your F&M ID barcode number.]



Where to discover SCHOLARLY, PERIODICAL AND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES @ F&M and Beyond


MLA Bibliography
The Modern Language Association's index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore.

Humanities Full Text
Indexes English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields.

Project Muse
A contemporary scholarly journal collection featuring content from the humanities and social sciences.

JStor
A collection of scholarly journal literature in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Publication dates range from the nineteenth-century to the mid-2000s. .

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Provides access to the major nineteenth century indexes for books, periodicals, newspapers and government documents.

America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers, 1690-1922.

New York Times, 1851-2007
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.


How to ACCESS ARTICLES

If immediate access to an article does not appear to be available, do not despair! To learn if we have a subscription to the journal or periodical you need, search F&M's electronic and print journal titles here: Journal Finder.

To obtain articles from publications to which F&M does not subscribe, fill out an Interlibrary Loan request form, using the information found in the article's citation.



If you have any questions, would like further assistance, etc, contact:

Lisa Stillwell, Information Literacy Librarian: lisa.stillwell@fandm.edu or 717.291.3844

Created 11/10, ls; Updated 11/11, ls

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223