Email or Text Us

Email or text us at
Email Archives & Special Collections at

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides

ENG 107: American Dreams

Ask @ the Library

Introduction to the Library


The United States
Encyclopedia of American Lives
REF CT 213 .S37 1998

American Decades
REF E 169.12 .A419

Dictionary of American History
REF E 174 .D52 2003

Encyclopedia of the United States in the 20th Century
REF E 740.7 .E53

Historical Dictionary of the Nixon-Ford Era
REF E 855 .H355 2008

The United States Presidency
The Presidents
REF E 176.1 .P918 2002

Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
REF BALCONY JK 511 .G45 2010

Guide to the Presidency
REF BALCONY JK 516 .C57 1996

Richard M. Nixon
The Cumulated Indexes to the Public Papers of...Nixon, 1969-1974
REF BALCONY J 82 .E2 1978

Political Profiles
REF E 840.6 .P64


Search the F&M Library Catalog to find out what books, journals, reference resources, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.
NOTE: There are no journal articles in a catalog!

Search WorldCat to discover books on your topic held by libraries all over the planet!

Use E-Z Borrow (a regional, expedited book-exchange service) if F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, or if we do not own the desired book. [Requires your F&M ID barcode number.]


Alternative Press Index

America: History and Life

PAIS International

PAIS Archive

Readers' Guide Full Text

Readers' Guide Retrospective

Social Sciences Full Text

Sociological Abstracts

JOURNALS, MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS @ F&M and INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL) To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use the JOURNAL FINDER tab on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 2-7 days for the article to arrive.

If you have any questions, would like further assistance, etc, contact:

Lisa Stillwell, Information Literacy Librarian,
291-3844 or

Last updated: 2/11, ls/jb

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223