Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ECO 272: Global Economics of Public Issues


International Statistical Sources

World dataBank
This data source includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, produced by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the present compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millennium Development Goals.

International Financial Statistics Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
A standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. This database, published by the International Monetary Fund, contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Covers 1948 to the present.

United Nations Statistics Division
The Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. This United Nations department compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.

LABORSTA
The site is maintained by the International Labour Organization (ILO), The organization is responsible for drawing up and overseeing international labor standards. The ILO is the only 'tripartite' United Nations agency that brings together representatives of governments, employers and workers to shape policies and programs that promote good labor practices. It's web site enables the user to view and then extract and save data and narrative metadata for over 200 countries.


National, State and Local Statistical Sources

Bearfacts
This World Wide Web based resource consists of computer-generated narratives for states, counties, metropolitan statistical areas (MSA's), as well as Bureau of Economic Assistance "Economic Areas." The narratives describe an area's personal income using current estimates, growth rates, and a breakdown of the sources of personal income. The Bureau of Economic Assistance produces economic accounts statistics that enable decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy.

U.S. Census Bureau
The "Business & Industry" section of the home page provides links to the monthly Economic Indicators, the latest data from the Economic Census, foreign trade statistics, and more.

FedStats
FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is a gateway location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.

FRASER
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research is a project of the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis to provide economic information and data for researchers interested in the U.S. economy. On this web site you will find links to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.

Economy at a Glance
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) produces Economy at a Glance sections at the national, regional, state, and metropolitan area levels. The data displayed in these pages are assembled from different surveys and programs conducted by BLS. The Economy at a Glance pages are refreshed with current data every time any of the source programs releases new statistics. This typically occurs seven to nine times per month.


General Resources

Center for Global Development
Founded in 2001, The Center for Global Development is an independent, nonprofit policy research organization that is dedicated to reducing global poverty and inequality and to making globalization work for the poor.

World Development Report Online
Here you will find every page of every World Development Report published by the World Bank since the first report was released in 1978.


How to Cite Statistical Information found on the World Wide Web

Chicago Style refers to the citation format established by the University of Chicago Press. A slightly modified version of Chicago Style, intended for writers of research papers, is known as the Turabian Style after its creator, Kate Turabian. Differences between the two styles are minor. An overview of this style may be found at the University of North Carolina web site. The Chicago Style citation to website content can often be limited to a mention in the text or in a note (" As of January 3, 2010 the International Monetary Fund provided data on its website within its database International Financial Statistics...") If a more formal citation is desired, it may be styled as in the below example. Because such content is subject to change, include an access date or, if available, a date that the site was last modified.

"Central Government Debt, total (% of GDP) 2000-2009," International Monetary Fund, accessed January 3, 2010 http://www.imfstatistics.org/imf/

APA Style refers to the citation format established by the American Psychological Association. APA is the style preferred by most of the disciplines in the social sciences. Statistical sources are quite variable, so it is difficult to find a "definitive" rule for citing these types of online sources in APA format. The following format has been derived from examples provided at the U.S. Census web site, and on a variety of academic library APA citation style help pages. For example...

International Monetary Fund. (n.d.). "Central Government Debt, total (% of GDP) 2000-2009," Retrieved January 3, 2011, from http://www.imfstatistics.org/imf/

Contact Marty Gordon or Tom Karel for further assistance.

Last updated: 1/21/11 mg

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223