Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ECO 244: Women in the United States Economy


REFERENCE RESOURCES

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
In its second edition, this encyclopedic dictionary contains over 1,850 articles of which eighty per cent are entirely new or rewritten since the initial publication in 1987. This online resource has topical keys as well as cross references embedded within articles. Contains bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Political Economy
Ref. Room HB 61 .E554 1999
A two volume subject encyclopedia recognizing the close entwinement of economic theory and policy within the realm of politics and governmental actions. Internally cross referenced. Contains bibliographies. Indexed.

Women and Equality in the Workplace
Ref. Room HD 6095 .G48 2003
A concise handbook containing thematic overviews of various aspects of working women in the United States as well as a directory of organizations, a glossary and bibliographies.

State of Working America
HD 8051 .S73 with the latest edition in the Reference Room.
Published by the Economic Policy Institute, this annual overview of the employment vistas in the United States is useful for narrative comments on trends and also tables, charts, etc. supporting same.

Work in America
Ref. Room HD 8066 .W637 2003
Useful for overviews of topics related to the workplace in the United States. Heavily indexed and contains bibliographic references.

Historical Dictionary of Feminism
Ref. Room HQ 1115 .B65 2004
This subject dictionary has am extensive section of headwords with definitions and also it includes a list of acronyms, abbreviations, chronology, bibliography, and lengthy introduction, the latter summarizing seminal events, writings, and people. The entries have both internal cross-references and see also references.

Women in Early America
Ref. Room HQ 1416 .M395 2004
A single volume encyclopedia offering insight into the lives of ordinary women in America between 1607 through 1812. This resource includes biographies of prominent women. It also has articles dealing with a wide range of issues such as employment, poverty, and social reform. Contains article bibliographies. Indexed.


STATISTICAL RESOURCES

FedStats
A "gateway" providing access to statistical data from over 100 agencies of the Federal Government, FedStats contains links to official statistical information available to the public.

Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics
Ref. Room HD 8064 .H38 2008
Now in its 11th edition, this handbook provides statistical data on a variety of observable data sets in the field of employment and consumer behavior.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the field of labor economics and statistics. Its website contains data which is relevant to current social and economic issues.

Women in the Labor Force: A Databook (2007 Edition)
"This report presents historical and current labor force earnings data for [both] women and men from the Current Population Survey (CPS.)"

Additional statistical resources are listed within the class guide for GOV 250 which has been prepared by Tom Karel for research purposes.

F&M LIBRARY CATALOG and E-Z BORROW

Search the catalog to find out what books, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

To find a book, etc. begin by analyzing your topic or research question and break it down into its key concepts. These concepts become your search terms to use in the catalog's "Advanced Search" word or phrase function. Once you have found a record for an item that looks useful, click on a Subject Heading to retrieve other items with similar content.

WorldCat
Features nearly 60 million records of many types of material cataloged by libraries around the world.

E-Z BORROW
A free book-exchange service among libraries in Pennsylvania and nearby states. If F&M's copy of a book is unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly! (Requires your F&M ID barcode number.)


JOURNAL & NEWSPAPER INDICES & ARTICLE COLLECTIONS

To find a journal or newspaper article use your search terms in an appropriate index or article collection, such as the ones listed below.
Business Source Premier
A comprehensive business research database, providing full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications and over 8,000 other periodicals. Coverage includes finance and economics Updated daily.

EconLit
Comprehensive, international, partially annotated bibliography of economics literature. Indexes over 300 journals as well as books, dissertations, working papers, and collective volumes.

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 200 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

Contemporary Women's Issues
International information on women from disciplines such as sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights. Covers 1995 to the present.

Access World News
Full-text access to major international, U.S., and local Lancaster, PA newspapers. Coverage varies, 5 to 20 years. Updated daily.


JOURNALS, MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS @ F&M and INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)

For journal articles that look useful you may have to determine whether or not the F&M Library owns those journals. If they aren't available within an online full text article collection, you will then have to use the JOURNALS: search our catalog of print and online journals in the library feature on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week to 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.


WORLD WIDE WEB

The World Wide Web can be a helpful environment in which to access scholarly information but because it is an unmediated matrix it is advisable to start one's exploration of it at bona fide sites.

Institute for Women's Policy Research
Institute for Women's Policy Research conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings regarding the needs of women. The focus of this research is on issues of poverty and welfare, employment and earnings, work and family issues, health and safety, and women's civic and political participation.


OTHER "HOW TO's"...

Last updated: 12/19/08 mg Contact Tom Karel for further assistance.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223