Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ECO 201: Macroeconomics



General Reference Sources

Dictionary of Economics
Intended for beginning students and lay readers, this source is part of a suite of titles within the prestigious Oxford Reference Online Collection, and is useful primarily for quick clarification of terminology. Entries are cross referenced for facile movement within this online book.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
In its second edition, this comprehensive encyclopedic dictionary contains over 1,850 articles wherein eighty per cent of the text is entirely new or substantially rewritten since the initial publication in 1987. This online resource has topical keys as well as cross references embedded within articles. Contains bibliographies.

World Development Report 2012 (World Bank)
Ref. HC 59.7 .W659 2012

Economic Report of the President
Ref. HC 106.5 .A47 - annual
Prepared annually by the White House Council of Economic Advisors; also online (click on the title)

Encyclopedia of the Global Economy
Ref Room HF 1359 .O28 2006
Dealing with issues pertaining to the global economy from the 16th-century to the present, this encyclopedia provides concise topical explanations of same. Contains index and entry bibliographies.

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor and Politics
Ref Room JZ 1318 .G5816 2006
This two volume set is a comprehensive overview of topics pertinent to the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization as well as in-depth analysis of how theory interacts with practice in the framework of global trade. Contains article bibliographies. Indexed.

Encyclopedia of Globalization (4 vols.)
Ref. Balcony JZ 1318 .E63 2007



Selected Sources on Countries

Europa World Yearbook (2 vols.)
Ref. Desk D2 .E8 2012

The Far East and Australasia 2012
Ref. DS 1 .F3 2012

The Middle East and North Africa 2012
Ref. DS 49 .M5 2012

Africa South of the Sahara 2012
Ref. DT 351 .A37 2012

South America, Central America, and the Caribbean 2012
Ref. F 1408.29 .S69 2012

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices (annual; US State Dept.)
Ref. HF 1410 .C69



Online Sources

Lexis-Nexis
Full-text newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, and papers from other countries.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.

EconLit
This is the major index to scholarly articles in Economics. Over 300 journals are included, as well as books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers 1969 to the present.

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 200 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

International Monetary Fund
The IMF web site contains a useful section of data and reports, including the World Economic Outlook Reports.

IMF Country Reports
Economic and financial reports on all countries, from the International Monetary Fund.

U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/
Contains the Background Notes for all countries. Click on the Countries tab.

World Bank
http://www.worldbank.org/
Includes special reports on global economic prospects.

World dataBank
A data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millenium Development Goals.


Last updated: 9/4/12 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223