Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ECO 173: Inequality in America



General Reference Sources

Dictionary of Economics
Intended for beginning students and lay readers, this source is part of a suite of titles within the prestigious Oxford Reference Online Collection, and is useful primarily for quick clarification of terminology. Entries are cross referenced for facile movement within this online book.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
In its second edition, this comprehensive encyclopedic dictionary contains over 1,850 articles wherein eighty per cent of the text is entirely new or substantially rewritten since the initial publication in 1987. This online resource has topical keys as well as cross references embedded within articles. Contains bibliographies.

Economic Report of the President
Ref. HC 106.5 .A47 - annual
Prepared annually by the White House Council of Economic Advisors; also online (click on the title)

Poverty and the Government in the United States 2 vols.
Ref. HC 110 .P6 P595 2009

Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy 2 vols.
Ref. HC 110 .P6 P598 2004

Encyclopedia of Homelessness 2 vols.
Ref. HV 4493 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent 2 vols.
Ref. LB 2805 .E528 2010



Online Sources

Lexis-Nexis
Full-text newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, and papers from other countries.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.

EconLit
This is the major index to scholarly articles in Economics. Over 300 journals are included, as well as books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers 1969 to the present.

Education Full Text
Indexes more than 400 domestic and international English-language periodicals and yearbooks. Subjects include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, and government funding. Covers 1984 to the present.

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 200 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

U. S. Census Bureau
One of the many features of this site is the Quick Facts for data on states, counties, and cities.

Pennsylvania Department of Education
Contains policies, data, and performance measures for school districts in the state.

The School District of Lancaster
Contains general information and news articles.


Last updated: 9/10/13 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223