Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ECO 103: Introduction to Economic Perspectives



REFERENCE RESOURCES

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
This encyclopedia is the largest reference work ever published for the social and behavioral sciences. Every article in the electronic edition will be supported by an abstract prepared specifically for the online publication. These abstracts will be posted to the website as they become available. Updated annually.

Dictionary of Economics
Intended for beginning students and lay readers, this source is part of a suite of titles within the prestigious Oxford Reference Online Collection, and is useful primarily for quick clarification of terminology. Entries are cross referenced for facile movement within this online book.

Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
Ref Room HB61 .C647 2008
First published as The Fortune Encyclopedia of Economics (1993), this single volume analysis of economic topics focuses on the effect that economic matters have on everyday life. It also includes brief biographies nearly one hundred economists. Contains index and brief bibliographies.

Eponymous Dictionary of Economics
Ref Room HB61 .E66 2004
As it's name implies, this dictionary provides quick access to explanations of laws and theorems which bear the name of economists. Contains brief bibliographies after most entries.

Encyclopedia of Political Economy
Ref Room HB 61 .E554 1999
A two volume subject encyclopedia recognizing the close entwinement of economic theory and policy with the realm of politics and governmental actions. Entries maintain a global point of view thus avoiding being insular in scope. Of particular note are twenty of A-Z lists that relate to various institutional spheres, subjects, and schools of thought. Internally cross referenced. Contains bibliographies. Indexed.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
In its second edition, this comprehensive encyclopedic dictionary contains over 1,850 articles wherein eighty per cent of the text is entirely new or substantially rewritten since the initial publication in 1987. This online resource has topical keys as well as cross references embedded within articles. Contains bibliographies.

Companion to the History of Economic Thought
Ref Room HB 75 .S29 2003
A comprehensive overview of discrete periods and major schools of thought arranged in historical surveys. Of particular note is the essay on ancient and medieval economic thought which condenses a large span of economic history in a cohesive manner. Contains name and subject index as well as chapter bibliographies.

Biographical Dictionary of American Economists
Ref Room HB 119 .A3 2006
This two volume encyclopedic work contains over 400 entries portraying important contributors to economic thought as it has evolved in America prior to 1955. Contains bibliographies and index.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Ref Room HC 15 .O94 2003
This five volume comprehensive encyclopedia has a broad scope with nearly one thousand signed articles, each including a bibliography. Events, both human and natural, individuals, concepts and ideas, and geographical topics are encompassed. A discernible effort has been made to avoid western centric coverage. Contains index.

Encyclopedia of the Global Economy
Ref Room HF 1359 .O28 2006
Dealing with issues pertaining to the global economy from the 16th-century to the present, this encyclopedia provides concise topical explanations of same. Contains index and entry bibliographies.

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor and Politics
Ref Room JZ 1318 .G5816 2006
This two volume set is a comprehensive overview of topics pertinent to the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization as well as in-depth analysis of how theory interacts with practice in the framework of global trade. Contains article bibliographies. Indexed.


F&M LIBRARY CATALOG and E-Z BORROW


Search the catalog to find out what books, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

To find a book, etc. begin by analyzing your topic or research question and break it down into its key concepts. These concepts become your search terms to use in the catalog's "Advanced Search" word or phrase function. Once you have found a record for an item that looks useful, click on a Subject Heading to retrieve other items with similar content.

WorldCat
Features nearly 60 million records of many types of material cataloged by libraries around the world.

E-Z BORROW
A free book-exchange service among libraries in Pennsylvania and nearby states. If F&M's copy of a book s unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly! (Requires your F&M ID barcode number.)


JOURNAL INDICES & ARTICLE COLLECTIONS


To find a journal article use your search terms in an appropriate journal index or article collection, such as the ones listed below.
EconLit
Comprehensive, international, partially annotated bibliography of economics literature. Indexes over 300 journals as well as books, dissertations, working papers, and collective volumes.

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 200 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

Project Muse
A collection of scholarly journals, full text in .pdf or .html format, from more than 50 publishers, primarily university and societal presses.

Social Science Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields.



WORLD WIDE WEB


The World Wide Web can be a helpful environment in which to access scholarly information but because it is an unmediated matrix it is advisable to start one's exploration of it at bona fide sites.

CyberEconomics
This site is actually an online self-tutorial designed for introductory level students concerned with the general principles of economic theories.

RePEc
A collaborative effort of over 100 volunteers in 47 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics, this database holds over 334,000 items, over 234,000 of which are available online.

Last updated: 10/21/11 ag Contact Andy Gulati for further assistance.

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223