Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


CLS 421: ALEXANDER THE GREAT



Selected REFERENCE BOOKS in the Reference Room


Use these as points of departure--for overview information about your project, to get ideas for your project, and most importantly, to get bibliographic information for your project.

The Cambridge Ancient History
Ref. Room D 57 .C252, vols. 1-14

Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Warfare
Ref. Room U 33 .S64 2002

Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World

Who's Who in the Age of Alexander the Great: Prosopography of Alexander's Empire
Ref. Room DF 234.2 .H39 2006


Finding MODERN SCHOLARLY WORKS (1980 forward)


Journal Articles
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals. Coverage is 1980 to the present and includes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, and reviews.

Historical Abstracts
International historical coverage, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.

Humanities Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.

JSTOR
Access to more than a thousand academic journals in 53 disciplines and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources. Coverage of individual titles varies but can span 19th century through current year. Research tip: scroll through the list of disciplines on the Advanced Search screen and select only those relevant to your topic.

Books
  • Select the Books & More tab from the Library home page. To find books for this class use word, phrase, and subject terms relevant to your topic.
  • When you discover a book of interest, select the "DETAILS" tab, and then the "FULL RECORD" tab to look at Subject terms assigned to the book. Click on a subject term to find other books on your topic in the library.
  • After you've searched the F&M Library Catalog for books on your topic, search WorldCat for a broader view of books on your topic that are held by other libraries in the world. Use the information in a book's WorldCat record to get it through Interlibrary Loan.


BORROWING FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

  • Use E-Z Borrow to get the book from another library in Pennsylvania.
  • Use Interlibrary Loan to get the book or article from another library anywhere.


ADDITIONAL HELP


Email Louise Kulp at louise.kulp@fandm.edu or call her at 717-291-4242 for further assistance, or fill out a research appointment request form to have an extremely helpful consultation designed just for you and your project!



Created Sept. 2010, L. Kulp
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223