Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


Summer Research - Chemistry


This is list of starting points for chemistry research, available through the Library or online.


Contents

Basic Information

Search the computational knowledge engine.
Enter what you want to calculate or know about.

OSHA Occupational Chemical Database
Reference for occupational safety compiled from several government agencies.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Contains mostly organic compounds with some inorganic compounds. Provides chemical and physical property data. Search directly for a chemical species or indirectly for related data.

Definitions, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Searches work on the F&M network. Use VPN to connect from off-campus

Search Oxford Reference Online

Chemistry Books

For more books, search the Library Catalog. Start with a subject search on a broad subject.

For an element, try the element name:
Nitrogen

For general classes of chemistry, try:
Chemistry, organic compounds, inorganic compounds, oganometallic chemistry, etc.

Or try a keyword search.

Visit the Reference section (1st floor) or Stacks (3rd floor) of Martin Library of the Sciences. Books are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers:
QD 71-142Analytical chemistry
QD 146-197Inorganic chemistry
QD 241-441Organic chemistry
QD 415-436Biochemistry
QD 450-801Physical and theoretical chemistry
QD 901-999Crystallography

Reference Books

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Sci Ref QD 65 .H3
Probably the most familiar source, the CRC handbook is published annually but usually changes little from one year to the next. It contains a variety of useful physical and chemical data, with some references. Some of the data is given in the main table of inorganic compounds, other data appears in separate tables grouped by data type.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Sci Ref QD65 .L36 2005

Merck Index
RS51 .M4

Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
Sci Ref QD 148 .D53 1992
Presents essential information on the most important inorganic substances. Includes over 20,000 entries.

Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds
Sci Ref QD 411 .D53 1995
Chapman-Hall publishes a variety of "dictionaries" of compounds, including these two sets. They give structure diagrams, basic physical data (on both the compound and significant derivatives), and references for other information (syntheses, spectra, etc.). Alphabetical arrangement; well-indexed, including CAS Registry Numbers.

Handbook of Reagents for Organic Chemicals
Sci Ref QD77 .H37 1999

Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 9 vols.
Sci Ref QD246 .D5

Desk Reference for Organic Chemists
Sci Ref QD257.7 .E28 1995

Additional Books

Comprehensive Organic Synthesis: Selectivity, Strategy, and Efficiency in Modern Organic Chemistry, 9 vols.
Sci Ref QD262 .C535

Illustrated Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties, 3 vols.
Sci Ref TD 196 .O73 M32

Organic Reactions, 61+ vols.
QD251 .O7

Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis. vol. 1-15
QD262 .F5

Compendium of Organic Synthetic Methods, 4 vols.
QD262 .H32

Organic Syntheses, 79+ vols.
QD262 .O7


Find an Article

Search Index and Abstract Databases

The library provides two types of databases. Citation databases (or indexes) allow you to search many, many articles by different publishers, in different journals, in one place. Full-text databases allow you to read the articles, but usually only search one publisher or a few journal titles.

For best results, search a citation database for a topic, then go to the Journal Finder to find the full-text article. If you can't find it through the library, go to Interlibrary Loan.

Searches work on the F&M network. Use VPN to connect from off-campus

SciFinder Scholar
Search for an article by chemical (structure, formula, name) or topic. Provides access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical science, chemistry, engineering, materials science and agricultural science. SciFinder includes references from over 10,000 journals and patents, discoveries from the mid-1800s to present, breakthroughs as they are published, and the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. Users must register for a username and password. Contact Laura Eiford, Science Librarian for assistance.

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1970 to the present.

Web of Knowledge

Search Web of KnowledgeSM
   

Copyright 2010 Thomson Reuters   

ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database)
This database contains information on all inorganic crystal structure including pure elements, minerals, metals, and intermetallic compounds including their atomic coordinates that have been published since 1913. It is updated twice a year. Limited to 4 Simultaneous Users.

PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. The database includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data, as well as links to PubMed literature.

Get Full-Text

The Library provides access to over 100 journal titles specifically for Chemistry and many more with some Chemistry content. For best results, after you find a citation, go to Journal Finder and search for the Journal Title. From the Journal Title, you can navigate to the year, volume, issue, and page number of the article.

If the Library does not subscribe to the journal, you may be able to get it through Interlibrary Loan.

ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications
Provides fully edited articles with complete graphics and links from all ACS publications. Articles appear online anywhere from two weeks to three months before the article is available in print. Coverage extends back to 1879.

DOI (Digital Object Identifier)

Citations and How to Cite

Each citation contains the information needed to identify a journal article (authors, article title, journal title, volume, issue, page numbers). For chemistry, the ACS Style is commonly used.

Reference Style Guidelines (ACS)
This information is incomplete and intended for quick reference only. For a more detailed review of how to cite references, consult the ACS Style Guide.

ACS Style Guide
Sci QD8.5 .A25 1997
References include detailed instructions on how to cite a wide variety of reference formats, both in the text and at the end of a research paper.


Last updated: 5/10/11 le, contact Laura Eiford for assistance, 291-3843.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223