CHM411: Physical Organic Chemistry
Journals at F&M
The library subscribes to many chemistry journals. Most of these journals contain original research;
some include review articles, book reviews, and association news. If you are searching for a
specific journal title, go to the
Library's homepage and choose "Journal Finder."
Here's a selective list of relevant journals.
Tools for Locating Journal Articles
The following sources identify journal articles, and other primary materials, such as technical
reports, patents, and dissertations. When using any indexing or abstracting service, it is important
to note the scope and periods of coverage.
Sci Reference area and Periodicals
This is the most complete and comprehensive index to the chemical literature, but by virtue of its
size, can be difficult to use for some purposes. Content is also searchable via SciFinder
Scholar, an end-user interface to the Chemical Abstracts, REGISTRY and REFERENCES databases.
Consult the print Chemical Abstracts (1907-2000) For either substances or techniques, check first in
the Index Guide to make sure you have the correct terminology. For individual substances,
then look in the Chemical Substance Index; for classes of substances or for techniques, look
in the General Subject Index. Heavily researched substances may have subject subheadings
attached, such as compounds or preparation. For less common substances, simply scan
the list under the subject heading.
The years 1907-1991 are indexed in Cumulative Indexes covering 5 or 10 year periods. 1992-2000 are
covered in Volume Indexes (6 months worth at a time). The cumulative indexes will give a volume and
abstract number (e.g. 100:10715); volume indexes will just give the abstract number.
If you do not recognize a journal title from the Chemical Abstracts abbreviation, check the Chemical
Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI) available at Sci Ref Z5523.A52 2001.If you have
trouble finding the correct chemical name for a substance in the Index Guide, try to locate its
Chemical Abstracts Registry Number in the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics or other handbook,
then use the Registry Number Handbook to find the CA standard name.
ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications
Provides fully edited articles with complete graphics and links from all 35 ACS publications.
Articles appear online anywhere from two weeks to three months before the article is available in
print. Coverage extends back to 1879.
Provides access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical science,
chemistry, engineering, materials science and agricultural science. SciFinder includes references from over
10,000 journals and patents, discoveries from the mid-1800s to present, breakthroughs as they are published,
and the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information.
Our license limits use to 2 simultaneous users from a pool of 3
institutions. Users must register for a username and password.
Contact Laura Eiford, Science Librarian for assistance.
Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the physical, life, and
social sciences. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries.
Covers 1970 to the present.
Some of the Library of Congress classifications which are of interest to students looking for books
in organic chemistry are:
QD241 - 441: Organic Chemistry
QD450 - 731: Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry
ChemWeb and Sci Ref last section
The Beilstein Handbook is the most comprehensive source of evaluated data and references in organic
chemistry, running hundreds of volumes. We own only approximately 100 volumes at F&M. It is
organized by chronological period; then within each period, by chemical class according to
Beilstein's own system. Most of Beilstein is in German; the last chronological period (available
only in part) is in English. Finding compounds can be difficult, but many reference works, including
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and Merck Index give Beilstein references. Consult the
Science Librarian regarding a mediated search of the Beilstein database.
Comprehensive Organic Synthesis: Selectivity, Strategy, and Efficiency in Modern Organic Chemistry, 9 vols.
Sci Ref QD262 .C535
Desk Reference for Organic Chemists
Sci Ref QD257.7 .E28 1995
Illustrated Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties, 3 vols.
Sci Ref TD 196 .O73 M32
Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 9 vols.
Sci Ref QD246 .D5
Organic Reactions, 61+ vols.
Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis. vol. 1-15
Handbook of Reagents for Organic Chemicals
Sci Ref QD77 .H37 1999
Compendium of Organic Synthetic Methods, 4 vols.
Organic Syntheses, 79+ vols.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Sci Ref QD65 .L36 2005
News and Current Awareness
Chemical and Engineering News
A weekly newsmagazine published by the ACS.
Part of the Science Online website from the American Association for the Advancement of Science
How to Cite References - Format in papers is to match the current format in JACS
ACS Style Guide
Sci QD8.5 .A25 1997
References include detailed instructions on how to cite a wide variety of reference formats, both in
the text and at the end of a research paper.
Reference Style Guidelines (ACS)
This information is incomplete and intended for quick reference only. For a more detailed review of
how to cite references, consult the ACS Style Guide.
Books and Articles about Scientific Reading and Writing
Science & Technical Writing: A Manual of Style
Sci Ref T11 .S378 2001
See Chapter 6, "Scientific Terms and Symbols," for advice on chemical terminology and chemical
Drake BD, Acosta GM, Smith RL, 1997.
"An Effective Technique for Reading Research Articles - The Japanese KENSHU Method." Journal of
Chemical Education 74: (2) 186-188.
Last updated: 1/18/11 le, contact
Ask Us for assistance, 291-4217