Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


BOS 480: Corporate America



I. SELECTED REFERENCE SOURCES

Encyclopedia of Capitalism 3 vols.
Ref HB 501 .E558 2004

21st Century Management: A Reference Handbook 2 vols.
Ref HD 30.4 .A16 2008

Encyclopedia of Leadership 4 vols.
Ref HD 57.7 .E53 2004

International Directory of Company Histories 136 vols. (so far)
Ref HD 2721 .D36

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society 5 vols.
Ref HF 5387 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime 2 vols.
Ref HV 6768 .E63 2005


II. INDEXES AND DATABASES

Business Source Complete
A comprehensive business research database, providing full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications and over 8,000 other periodicals. Covers marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Detailed profiles of 10,000 companies are included.Updated daily.

Legal Research (Lexis-Nexis)
Legal resources, including law reviews, state and federal case law, patent law, and law school directories. For Mac Users - Please use Safari or Google Chrome as your browser.

Supreme Court of the United States
The official web site of the Supreme Court, with current and historic court opinions and other information about the workings of the Court.

Cornell's Legal Information Institute
This link takes you to the Supreme Court section of Cornell's site. This is a good current awareness tool, with an archive of cases going back to 1990. Links to related resources, like court briefs and oral arguments, are included.

Securities and Exchange Commission
The official web site of the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission, currently chaired by F&M alumna Mary Schapiro. The mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation.


III. HOW TO FIND COURT CASES


The fastest method is to use LEXIS-NEXIS.
  • Go to Legal Research (LEXIS-NEXIS) on the A to Z list of Research Resources (see above).
  • Select Federal and State Cases from the left-hand menu.
  • Search for the case name and choose U. S. Supreme Court Cases in the Jurisdiction box. In Specify Date select previous 5 years for Citizens United v. FEC and all available dates for Tahoe-Sierra Preservation Council.
  • For a lower court case, such as John Doe v. Unocal Corp, use the same approach but select All Federal and State Courts and all available dates from the drop-down menus.
  • The only drawback to using LEXIS-NEXIS is that you have to scroll through much summary and head-notes material before you get to the actual opinion of the court. However, this added material from LEXIS-NEXIS can be very helpful in understanding the significance of the case.
  • An alternative method is to use the Supreme Court website to find the Citizens United and Tahoe cases. The advantage of taking this approach is that you will see the official slip opinion of the court, exactly the way the opinion was published.
  • Go to the home page of the U.S. Supreme Court website (see above).
  • Type citizens united in the search term box at the upper right of the page and click on the 4th item on the list of results to see the opinion of the Court.
  • For the Tahoe case, it will be easier to search a different way on the Supreme Court web site.
  • From the home page, select Opinions from the left menu, and then select Bound Volumes
  • From the next menu, open Volume 535.
  • The volume begins with a table of cases. Tahoe starts on page 302.

Last updated: 10/3/12 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223