Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


BOS 332: Law, Ethics, and Society



I. SELECTED REFERENCE SOURCES

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society 5 vols.
Ref HF 5387 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime, 2nd Edition 2 vols.
Ref HV 6768 .E63 2013

Encyclopedia of Law and Society 3 vols.
Ref Balcony K 583 .E53 2007

Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties 3 vols.
Ref Balcony KF 4748 .E53 2006

Landmark Supreme Court Cases, 2nd Edition 3 vols.
Ref Balcony KF 8742 .H37 2012

Guide to the U. S. Supreme Court, 5th Edition 2 vols.
Ref Balcony KF 8742 .W567 2011


II. INDEXES AND DATABASES

Lexis Nexis Academic
Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law). USE THIS TO FIND THE ASSIGNED COURT CASES.

Legal Research (Lexis-Nexis)
This link takes you directly to the law reviews search screen. Use the SEARCH BY CONTENT TYPE box to find an array of legal resources, including state and federal case law, patent law, and law school directories.

Supreme Court of the United States
The official web site of the Supreme Court, with current and historic court opinions and other information about the workings of the Court.

Cornell's Legal Information Institute
This link takes you to the Supreme Court section of Cornell's site. This is a good current awareness tool, with an archive of cases going back to 1990. Links to related resources, like court briefs and oral arguments, are included.

Law Library of Congress
Provides access to court cases, legal information, and legislative resources - from the Library of Congress.

Business Source Complete
A comprehensive business research database, providing full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications and over 8,000 other periodicals. Covers marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Detailed profiles of 10,000 companies are included. Updated daily.


III. HOW TO FIND COURT CASES


The fastest method is to use LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (see above).
  • Use Look Up a Legal Case in the center of the bottom of the page.
  • Search by parties and put in the party names.
  • The results will be a mix of Supreme Court decisions and decisions from lower federal courts for Citizens United and the Grutter cases. John Doe v. Unocal will only give you lower court opinions.
  • For Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission the full and final decision of the Court is the first item in the results list. If you print this it will be 115 pages.
  • For Grutter v. Bollinger the second item on the list is the case you want. This is 51 pages.
  • John Doe v. Unocal is a bit more confusing. The fifth case, from the District Court, is the one you want. This is 18 pages.
  • The only drawback to using LEXIS-NEXIS is that you have to scroll through much summary and head-notes material before you get to the actual opinion of the court. However, this added material from LEXIS-NEXIS can be very helpful in understanding the significance of the case.
  • You can also find these cases using LEXIS-NEXIS Legal, but the search strategies are more complicated. Additionally, Citizens United and Grutter can be found in the Supreme Court's web site.
United States Reports (560 vols., so far)
Ref. Balcony JK 1561 .U5
The official compilation of U. S. Supreme Court opinions. Recent opinions are available on the Supreme Court's web page.

Last updated: 4/8/14 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223