Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


AST 170: Survey of Astronomy



How to find background information


Use reference sources to get ideas for topics, to get background information, and to guide you to more information.
AccessScience
Full access to more than 7100 articles, 115,000 definitions, 2,000 biographies, and research advances in science and technology. Updated daily.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Astronomy Encyclopedia
Sci Ref QB14 .A875 2002

Astrophysical Formulae
Sci Ref QB461 .L36 2006

Cambridge Guide to the Solar System
Sci Ref QB501 .L24 2011

The Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Astronomy
Sci Ref QB14 .M553 2007

The Cambridge Photographic Atlas of the Planets
Sci Ref QB605 .B74

The Cambridge Photographic Guide to the Planets
Sci Ref QB605 .T39 2001

The Cambridge Planetary Handbook
Sci Ref QB601 .B36 2000

Chronological Encyclopedia of Discoveries in Space
Sci Ref QB500.262 .Z56 2000

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics

Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences
Sci Ref QB600.2 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Space Exploration
Sci Ref QB500.262 .A54 2000

Encyclopedia of the Solar System
Sci Ref QB501 .E53 1999

Space Sciences 4 vols.
Sci Ref QB500 .S63 2002



How to find Books


Search the Library Catalog. Try terms like: jupiter, europa.


Government Resources

FDSys
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.

Science.gov
A gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results

National Aeronautics and Space Administration
The official web page of NASA.

European Space Agency
The official web page of ESA.



Other Resources

International Astronomical Union
The official web page of the IAU.




Last updated: 11/4/12 le
for assistance, contact Laura Eiford at 291-3843.
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223