Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ART 374: The Constructed Image



Biographical Information


Books
  • Select the Books & More tab from the Library home page. To find books for this class use word, phrase, and subject terms relevant to your artist and his or her life.
  • When you discover a book of interest, select the "DETAILS" tab, and then the "FULL RECORD" tab to look at Subject terms assigned to the book. Click on a subject term to find other books on your topic in the library.
  • After you've searched the F&M Library Catalog for books on your topic, search WorldCat for a broader view of books on your topic that are held by other libraries in the world. Use the information in a book's WorldCat record to get it through Interlibrary Loan.
Oxford Art Online Biographies
Artist's biographies from Grove Art Online and other Oxford art publications.

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography
Ref. Room TR 642 .E5 2006, vols. 1-3

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography
Ref. Room TR 9 .H25 2008, vols. 1-2


Images

ARTstor
Image library

Oxford Art Online Images
Direct links to art works on museum and other web sites

Smithsonian Photography Initative
Photographs in the collections of the Smithsonian's museums and research centers

Life Photo Archive Hosted by Google
Photographs from the LIFE photo archive from the 1860s through today


Critical reviews and articles (in periodicals and newspapers)

Art Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of noted scholarly sources in the arts. Coverage: indexing from 1982, abstracting from 1984, and select full text from 1994. IMPORTANT! Before starting your search click on Art in the Subject Area box.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals. Coverage is 1980 to the present and includes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, and reviews.

JSTOR
Full-text academic journal articles. Research tip: scroll through the list of disciplines on the Advanced Search screen and select only those relevant to your topic.

New York Times (1851-2007)
Full-text pages of the New York Times including most photographs, pictures and advertisements.

LexisNexis Academic
Archived and current news from international newspapers and wire services.


Citing Images

Use the Citing Images citation guide to cite images in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.


Additional Help


Email Louise Kulp at louise.kulp@fandm.edu or call her at 717-291-4242 for further assistance, or fill out a research appointment request form to have an extremely helpful consultation designed just for you and your project!



Created 2010, L. Kulp/jb
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223