ART 273

Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ART 273: European Art, 1830-1900 (Spring 2010)




Find background information

Use reference sources to get ideas for topics, to get background information, and to guide you to additional information.
Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art Online)

Encyclopedia or the Romantic Era
Ref NX 452.5 .R64 E53 2004 v. 1-2

Victorian Painters
Ref ND 467 .W66 1995 v. 1-2



Search the library catalog for books

  • Select BOOKS from the Library home page. To find books for this class use word, phrase, and subject terms relevant to your research topic.
  • When you discover a book of interest, select the "DETAILS" tab, and then the "FULL RECORD" tab to look at Subject terms assigned to the book. Click on a subject term to find other books on your topic in the library.
  • If the book you want is already checked out to someone else, use the Library's EZ-Borrow service to get it from another library in Pennsylvania.
  • After you've searched the F&M Library Catalog for books on your topic, search WorldCat for a broader view of books on your topic that are held by other libraries in the world. Use the information in a book's WorldCat record to get it through Interlibrary Loan.



Search library databases for academic journal articles and other published research

Available from the Library home page under A to Z List. Browse the list to find searchable databases relevant to your particular topic. The databases listed below are the ones most likely to be useful in ART273.
Art Full Text
Provides Indexing from 1982, Abstracting from 1984, and select Full Text from 1994 for a variety of international English-language arts publications. This link launches "OmniFile Full Text Mega." From there choose "Art" from the Subject Area box.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Coverage is 1980 to the present.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Indexing and abstracting from 1973 for art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 1,400 periodicals. Subject coverage: European and American art from late antiquity to the present. HURRY!! BHA expires March 31, 2010.

JSTOR
A collection of articles from over 1500 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. Select Advanced Search to search according to discipline.



Obtaining articles

  • If your article citation doesn't include a link to full-text content, search the library's Journal titles list to see if we have the article in some other format. If we don't, use Interlibrary Loan to order it. (Remember: search the Journal titles list for the name of the journal the article is in, not the name of the article!)



Image library

ARTstor



External web sites

Metropolitan Museum of Art

Philadelphia Museum of Art



Evaluating and Citing Sources



Additional Help


Created March 2010, L. Kulp

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223