Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ART 230: PAPERMAKING (Book Arts assignment)



ARTISTS' BOOKS in the Library's Collection


Select the Books & More tab from the Library home page. Search in the Subject field for this exact term:

Artists' books rbgenr

Most (if not all) of the books resulting from this search are available to examine in Archives and Special Collections, ground floor, Shadek-Fackenthal Library.



BOOKS about ARTISTS' BOOKS


To find how-to information (book-making techniques), criticism, exhibition catalogs, and monographs in the library catalog, search in the Words or phrase field for keywords such as:

  • Artists' books
  • Book design
  • Bookbinding
  • Artists' books and exhibitions


DVD


Beyond Words: The Marriage of Art and Literature in Bookmaking. Director and producer Anita
Saewitz. New York, NY, 1999.

Call number DVD 2501, available for viewing in Media Services, ground floor, Stager Hall.



Selected WEB SITES


Otis College of Art and Design, Artists' Books Collection
Approximately 8,000 images of 2,000 books in the collection of the library at Otis. Individual books can be viewed page-by-page, making this web site a valuable teaching and research resource for students, artists, and scholars. Collection includes works by significant contemporary artists such as Ed Ruscha, Joseph Beuys, and Vito Acconci.

Printed Matter
Printed Matter is the world's largest non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of publications made by artists. Its illustrated searchable online catalog of inventory includes bibliographical information such as binding style, materials, and technical process. Printed Matter maintains active exhibitions, educational, and publishing programs, and its storefront in Manhattan has a public reading room.

School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection
Visual record of selected materials in the Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection, School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Vamp & Tramp, Booksellers, LLC
Searchable online catalog shows multiple photos of individual book works, in addition to technical descriptions of books and revealing artists' statements. An excellent site to browse for exposure to a wide variety of unusual and innovative structures.

Individual artists' web sites (for example, Karen Hanmer's)



Selected LITERATURE


The Bonefolder: an e-journal for the bookbinder and book artist
http://www.philobiblon.com/bonefolder/

Kulp, Louise. "Artists' Books in Libraries: A Review of the Literature." Art Documentation 24.1 (2005): 6-10.
http://dspace.nitle.org/handle/10090/2944



IMAGES

ARTstor
The ARTstor digital library is rich with images of artists' books. A basic search for the keyword phrase "artists' books" returns 600 images.



For ADDITIONAL INFORMATION or ASSISTANCE


Louise Kulp, Visual Resources Librarian, louise.kulp@fandm.edu, 717-291-4242
Christopher Raab, Archives and Special Collections Librarian, christopher.raab@fandm.edu, 717-291-4225



Created October 2010, L. Kulp
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223