Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ART 126: First-Year Seminar - How Ideas Become Form



Selected REFERENCE BOOKS in the Reference Room


Use these as points of departure--for overview information about your project, to get ideas for your project, and most importantly, to get bibliographic information for your project.

Art
Please Note: The Library of Congress call number classification for books in the Fine Arts is "N". Fine Arts subclasses you may find helpful in your research include:
N Visual arts
NB Sculpture
NX Arts in general

Benezit dictionary of artists
Extensive entries include biography, bibliography, and auction records.
Ref. Room N 40 .D5213 2006, vols. 1-14

The Encyclopedia of Sculpture
A record of sculpture in chronological, historical, technical, and international contexts.
Ref. Room NB 198 .E53 2004, vols. 1-3

Timelines of the arts and literature
Synchronous cultural events in the context of world events.
Ref. Room NX 447.5 .B76 1994

Twentieth-century artists on art: an index to writings, statements, and interviews
Use for locating primary-source materials.
Ref. Room NX 456 .R59 1996

19th and 20th Century History
Please Note: The Library of Congress call number classification for books about General History and History of Europe is "D". The classifications for History: American are "E" and "F".
Chronology of World History
Ref. Room D 11 .M39 1999, vols. 1-4

Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Ref. Room E 169.1 .E624 2001, vols. 1-3



FINDING BOOKS in the Catalog

  • Select the Books & More tab from the Library home page. To find books for this class use word, phrase, and subject terms relevant to your artist and his or her life.
  • When you discover a book of interest, select the "DETAILS" tab, and then the "FULL RECORD" tab to look at Subject terms assigned to the book. Click on a subject term to find other books on your topic in the library.
  • After you've searched the F&M Library Catalog for books on your topic, search WorldCat for a broader view of books on your topic that are held by other libraries in the world. Use the information in a book's WorldCat record to get it through Interlibrary Loan.


ART REFERENCE online

Oxford Art Online
Gateway into art research and the access point for Oxford art reference publications, including Grove Art Online, with its tens of thousands of subject entries, biographies, bibliographic citations, and images.



ACADEMIC JOURNAL and NEWSPAPER ARTICLES Online


Academic Journal Articles
Art Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of noted scholarly sources in the arts. Coverage: indexing from 1982, abstracting from 1984, and select full text from 1994. IMPORTANT! Before starting your search click on Art in the Subject Area box.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals. Coverage is 1980 to the present and includes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, and reviews.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Archive of a literature index that covers European and American art from late antiquity to contemporary. The literature includes books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 1,400 periodicals. Publication coverage is approximately 1973 to 2009.

JSTOR
Access to more than a thousand academic journals in 53 disciplines and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources. Coverage of individual titles varies but can span 19th century through current year. Research tip: scroll through the list of disciplines on the Advanced Search screen and select only those relevant to your topic.


Newspaper Articles (exhibition reviews, obituaries, etc.)
New York Times
The New York Times from the first issue in 1851 through 2005. In addition to full text, content includes most photographs, pictures and advertisements as they originally appeared on the pages.

LexisNexis Academic
Archived and current news from international newspapers and wire services.



IMAGES online

Oxford Art Online Images
Direct links to art works on museum and other web sites.

ARTstor
Image library and presentation tool.

F&M Library's Guide to Finding Images on the Web
Annotated list of interdisciplinary image web sites.



PRIMARY SOURCES


Primary sources are original materials created by individuals who were actual participants in the topic at hand, which in your case is the life of an artist. These materials can take a wide range of forms, including correspondence, diaries, maps, speeches, photographs, recorded interviews, and even art works. Caution! What qualifies as a primary source can be subjective. Consult Professor Maksymowicz for acceptable primary-source materials for this course.



EVALUATING and CITING

The Writing Center. Using Outside Sources: A Student's Guide to Paraphrasing, Quoting, and Acknowledging Sources. 10th ed. Lancaster, PA: Franklin & Marshall College, Spring 2010.
Includes an excellent section on evaluating print and online sources, as well as many sample citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.



ADDITIONAL HELP


Email Louise Kulp at louise.kulp@fandm.edu or call her at 717-291-4242 for further assistance, or fill out a research appointment request form to have an extremely helpful consultation designed just for you and your project!



Updated August 2010, L. Kulp
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223