Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ANT 258: People and Cultures of East Asia



BACKGROUND INFORMATION


Use reference sources to get ideas for topics, to get background information, and to guide you to additional information.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China
REF DS755 .B86 2009

Encyclopedia of Modern China. 4 volumes
REF DS755. E53 2009

Japan Encyclopedia
REF DS821 .F73 2002

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
REF DS822.5 .E516 2002

The Koreas : A Global Studies Handbook
REF DS902 .C65 2002

Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea
REF DS904.8 .N34 2004

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture, Volume 6: Asia and Pacific Oceania
REF HM621 .G74 2007 v.6


F&M LIBRARY CATALOG and E-Z BORROW


Search the catalog to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

To find a book, begin by conducting a Keyword search our your topic. Analyze your topic or research question and break it down into its key concepts, which becomes the Keyword search. Once you have found a record for an item that looks useful, click on a Subject Heading to retrieve other items with similar content.

WorldCat
The OCLC Online Union Catalog. Nearly 60 million records of many types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world.

E-Z BORROW
A free book-exchange service among academic libraries in Pennsylvania and neighboring states. If F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly! (Requires your F&M ID barcode number.)


INDEXES AND ARTICLE COLLECTIONS


Available from the Library web page under Articles: access an A to Z List of our databases. Browse the entire list to find databases relevant to your particular topic. The databases listed below are most likely to be useful:
Anthropology Plus
This resource is the combination of Anthropology Index and Anthropological Literature. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers over 2500 journals, 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.

Anthrosource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings anthropological material online to scholars and the public.


Art Full Text
Variety of international English-language arts publications. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1994 to present. Link will launch OmniFile Full Text Mega. Choose database from Subject Area.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Coverage extends back to 1971.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.

Humanities Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.

JStor
A collection of full-text articles from over 1500 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor can be added to Facebook.

Music Literature (RILM)
Over 200,000 citations on international music describing books, articles, and dissertations. Produced by the Repertoire Internationale de Litterature Musicale. Covers 1967 to the present.

PAIS International and PAIS Archive
International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present and 1915-1976 in the Archive.

Project Muse
Searchable access to scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.

Religion Index (ATLA)
Comprehensive database in religious and theological scholarship. Includes index citations, journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Covers from 1949 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.

Sociological Abstracts
Full version comprehensive database of over 1500 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences. Covers 1963 to the present.

Web of Science (ISI)
The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the sciences (physical, life and social) and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1965 to the present.



JOURNALS, MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS & MAGAZINES @ F&M AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)


To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use Journal Finder on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week to 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.


ADDITIONAL RESEARCH ASSISTANCE


Email or call Pamela Snelson at pamela.snelson@fandm.edu or 717-291-3896, or ASK US!

Last updated: 2/3/11 ps/jb
 

©2011 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223