Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ANT/WGS 175: Invisible Worlds




REFERENCE SOURCES

Use reference sources to get ideas for topics, to get background information, and to guide you to additional information.
The Encyclopedia of Ghosts and Spirits
SCI REF BF1461 .G85 1992

Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife
REF GR35 .G75 2005

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales
REF GR74 .G73 2008

Dictionary of Fairies
REF GR549 .B74 2003

Great Encyclopedia of Faeries
REF GR549 .D82819 2000

Spirits, Fairies, Gnomes, and Goblins : An Encyclopedia of the Little People
REF GR549 .R65 1996

Mythical and Fabulous Creatures : A Source Book and Research Guide
REF GR825 .M87 1987

Encyclopaedia of Islam

Oxford Reference Online
The largest, most up-to-date, authoritative, and accessible reference work in the world. Search in Mythology & Folklore section.



F&M LIBRARY CATALOG & E-Z BORROW: BOOKS

Search the catalog to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.
NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

E-Z Borrow
A free book-exchange service among academic libraries in Pennsylvania. If F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly!

[Requires your F&M ID barcode number.]


INDEXES & ARTICLE COLLECTIONS

ATLA Religion Index
Comprehensive database in religious and theological scholarship. Covers from 1949 to the present.

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present. Covers abstracts 1964 to the present.

Anthropology Plus
This resource is the combination of Anthropology Index and Anthropological Literature. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers over 2500 journals, 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.

Anthrosource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings anthropological material online to scholars and the public.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.

JSTOR
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 100 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to newspaper articles, business information, and legal resources.

MLA Bibliography
The Modern Language Association's index of literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1963 to the present.

Readers' Guide Full Text
Indexes over 200 popular U.S. general interest periodicals. Covers 1983 to the present.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Comprehensive indexing of 500 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.

Sociological Abstracts
Full version comprehensive database of over 1500 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences. Covers 1963 to the present.

Wilson Select Plus
Provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full-text periodical articles, many of which are linked to citations in other FirstSearch databases.



JOURNALS, MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)

To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use the Journals feature on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week - 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books (ILL) request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.



VISUAL RESOURCES COLLECTION: IMAGES

To find images, use the Visual Resources Website to locate images held locally, and/or on the web.

If you have any questions, concerns, research anxiety, etc., contact:
Pam Snelson
291-3896 or pamela.snelson@fandm.edu

Last updated: 11/09 jb
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223