Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ANT 172: Pyramids, Plazas, and Palaces



Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology
REF CC77.H5 E53 2002

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
REF CC100 .E54 2001 V.1-3

An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology
REF DE5 .E5 1995 V.1-2

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Native American Mounds & Earthworks
REF E77.9 .L58 2009

Archaeology in America: an Encyclopedia
REF E159.5 .A68 2009 V.1-4

Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America: an Encyclopedia
REF F1218.6 .A73 2001

An Archaeological Guide to Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula
REF F1435 .K45 1993

Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology
REF GN25 .C65 1994

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
REF GN307 .R68 2010

Art and architecture of the World's Religions
REF N7790 .R67 2009 V.1-2

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction
REF NA31 .E59 1988 V.1-5

A Global History of Architecture
REF NA200 .C493 2011

Encyclopaedia of World Architecture
REF NA202 .S76 V.1-2

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture
REF NA215 .A7513 2003

Encyclopedia of Anthropology

Oxford Art Online



F&M Library Catalog and E-Z Borrow

Search the catalog to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

To find a book, begin by conducting a Keyword search our your topic. Analyze your topic or research question and break it down into its key concepts, which becomes the Keyword search. Once you have found a record for an item that looks useful, click on a Subject Heading to retrieve other items with similar content.

WorldCat
The OCLC Online Union Catalog. Nearly 60 million records of many types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. Updated daily.

E-Z BORROW
A free book-exchange service among academic libraries in Pennsylvania and neighboring states. If F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly! (Requires your F&M ID barcode number.)


Indexes & Articles Collections

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present. Covers abstracts 1964 to the present.

Anthropology Plus
This resource is the combination of Anthropology Index and Anthropological Literature. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers over 2500 journals, 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.

Anthrosource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings anthropological material online to scholars and the public.

Art Full Text
Variety of international English-language arts publications. Indexing from 1984 to present, abstracting from 1994 to present. Link will launch OmniFile Full Text Mega. Choose database from Subject Area.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
This database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Covers 1934 to the present.

eHRAF World Cultures
A collection of ethnographic texts arranged by culture and subject. Currently contains over 90 cultures. Updated yearly.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.

JStor
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 100 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

Social Science FT
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.



Journals, Magazines & Newspapers @ F&M and Interlibrary Loan (ILL)


To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use the Journal Finder tab on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week to 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.


Research Tips


If you have any questions, would like further assistance, etc, contact:
Pam Snelson,
291-3896 or pamela.snelson@fandm.edu

Last updated: 09/11 ps/jb
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223