Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


ANT 100: Social Anthropology



Reference Resources

Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology
REF GN25 .C65 1994

Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia
REF HQ796 .C8154 2006 vols 1-2

Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
REF GN42 .Z4 J33 2007

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 vols 1-2

Girl Culture: An Encyclopedia
REF Q798 .G523 2008 vols 1-2

Material Culture in America: Understanding Everyday Life
REF GN560 .U6 M37 2008

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
REF GN307 .R68 2010

Encyclopedia of Anthropology


F&M Library Catalog and E-Z Borrow

Search the catalog to find out what books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, CDs, music, etc., the library owns.

NOTE: There are no journal articles in the catalog!

To find a book, begin by conducting a Keyword search our your topic. Analyze your topic or research question and break it down into its key concepts, which becomes the Keyword search. Once you have found a record for an item that looks useful, click on a Subject Heading to retrieve other items with similar content.

WorldCat
The OCLC Online Union Catalog. Nearly 60 million records of many types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. Updated daily.

E-Z BORROW
A free book-exchange service among academic libraries in Pennsylvania and neighboring states. If F&M's copy of a book you want is unavailable, try E-Z Borrow to get the book quickly! (Requires your F&M ID barcode number.)


Indexes & Articles Collections

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present. Covers abstracts 1964 to the present.

Anthropology Plus
This resource is the combination of Anthropology Index and Anthropological Literature. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers over 2500 journals, 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.

Anthrosource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings anthropological material online to scholars and the public.

JStor
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 100 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

Project Muse
Searchable access to scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.

Social Science FT
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.

Sociological Abstracts
Full version comprehensive database of over 1500 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences. Covers 1963 to the present.



Journals, Magazines & Newspapers @ F&M and Interlibrary Loan (ILL)


To determine whether or not the F&M Library owns a journal, use the Journal Finder tab on the Library's web site. If the library does not have a journal you need, and you have at least 1 week to 10 days before your assignment is due, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan: request journal articles & books request to have the journal article acquired for you by the library. Allow 3-7 days for the article to arrive.


Research Tips


If you have any questions, would like further assistance, etc, contact:
Pam Snelson,
291-3896 or pamela.snelson@fandm.edu

Last updated: 9/20/13 ps/jb
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223