Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


AMS 375: U.S./Middle East Relations



Reference Sources

The Contemporary Middle East: A Documentary History
Ref DS 42 .F44 2008 1160 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa, 2nd Ed. 4 vols.
Ref DS 43 .E53 2004

The Middle East: A Guide to Politics, Economics, Society, and Culture 2 vols.
Ref DS 44 .M497 2012

The Middle East and North Africa 2012
Ref DS 49 .M5 2012

Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and the Iraq Conflicts 5 vols. (Vol. 5 contains documents)
Ref DS 63.1 .E453 2010

Historical Dictionary of United States - Middle East Relations
Ref DS 63.2 .U5 H3472 2007

Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War
Ref DS 79.72 .S39 1998

Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict: A Political, Social, and Military History 4 vols.
Ref DS 119.7 .E5653 2008

Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict 3 vols.
Ref DS 119.7 .E568 2010

Chronological History of U. S. Foreign Relations, 2nd Ed. 3 vols.
Ref E 183.7 .B745 2002

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2nd Ed. 3 vols.
Ref E 183.7 .E52 2002

Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Ref Balcony JZ 1160 .E53 2005

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations (4 vols.)
Ref Balcony JZ 1160 .N65 2002

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements, 3rd Ed. (4 vols.)
Ref Balcony KZ 4968 .O84 2003



Indexes and Abstracts

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present. Covers abstracts 1964 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.

PAIS International
Index to policy-oriented literature (books, journal articles and U.S. and foreign government documents). International coverage of information about political, economic and social issues and events in specific countries. Covers 1972 to the present.

Lexis-Nexis
Connections to full-text newspaper articles from all states(including New York Times and Washington Post), and major world news sources. Many publications can be searched back to the early 1980s.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
An index of all federal government publications from 1976 to the present.

JStor
A collection of abstracts and articles from over 100 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.



Government Publications

U.S. State Department
http://www.state.gov/

Foreign Relations of the United States
JX 233 .A3 (main stacks)
Published by the U. S. State Department, this series contains declassified memos and reports to and from U.S. embassies and other official documents. 1861 to 1976 (and growing)

Foreign Relations of the United States - online
http://history.state.gov/historicaldocuments

Foreign Relations of the United States - University of Wisconsin Digitized collection
http://uwdc.library.wisc.edu/collections/frus
This collection covers the volumes from 1861 to 1960.

PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS
U.S. Docs GS 4.113: (1929-1931; 1945-1983)
U.S. Docs AE 2.114: (1984 - present)

Also available online (see below)
An annual compilation of all presidential documents, including speeches, interviews, and press conferences.

COMPILATION OF PRESIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS
Online access to all Presidential speeches, remarks, interviews, and documents, from 1993 to the present. Updates occur as items are released from the White House press office.

PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS
Covers 1991 to 2006, from GPO Access. The Public Papers can also be searched, but not browsed, in FDSys.

PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS
Covers 1929 to 2001; from the University of Michigan.

Presidential Libraries
Links to the official libraries of modern U. S. presidents, Hoover through George W. Bush The libraries contain official documents, artifacts, and audio-visual materials (such as campaign debates and advertisements).

American Presidency Project
This is an archival collection held at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and contains over 99,000 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Much of this material has been digitized.

Congressional Committee Hearings
U.S. Doc. Y4 ....
Printed transcripts of hearings before House and Senate committees on a variety of topics. Recent hearings are also available online through FDSys.

Congressional Record
U.S. Doc. X/A ....(1921 - present in paper; 1873-1921 on microfilm
Daily transcripts of speeches and remarks delivered on the floor of the House and Senate. The CR is also available online, from 1994 to the present, through FDSys.

National Security Archive (George Washington University)
http://www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/

United Nations
http://www.un.org/


Last updated: 9/17/13 tk, contact Tom Karel for assistance, 291-3845
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223