Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


AMS/TDF 213: Black American Film



Print Resources

Library Catalog
To find books in the our library, try a Words or Phrase search. Try narrowing your search by Details > Full Record > Subject terms. Sample search string:

("african american*" or black) and (film* or movie* or cinema*)
"spike lee" and (analysis or interpretation or criticism)

Historical dictionary of African American cinema
Ref PN1995.9 .N4 B433 2007

Frame by frame II : a filmography of the African American image, 1978-1994s
Ref PN1995.9.N4 K58 1997

America on film : representing race, class, gender, and sexuality at the movies 2nd ed.
PN1995.9 .M56 B46 2009

Philosophy, Black film, film noir
PN1995.9 .N4 F59 2008

Black magic : White Hollywood and African American culture
PN1995.9 .N4 G33 2004

WorldCat
Better than sliced bread, or Google! If you can't fine it anywhere else, you can find it here. Over 80 million records of many types of material from most academic libraries. Be sure check Libraries Worldwide. For materials not found at F&M, you may need to use:

E-ZBorrow (PA books only)
Interlibrary Loan



Online Resources

JStor
Full-text journals, most from original date of publication, with a rolling current date of 4 or 5 years. Choose Advanced Search, then possibly narrow search to Articles and relevant disciplines.

Project Muse
Searchable access to scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Possibly our best resource for theater-related full-text journals.

MLA International Bibliography
The Modern Language Association's index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1963 to the present.

New York Times
The New York Times (Sep 18, 1851 - Dec 31, 2006, full-text) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Terrific resources for older film or theater reviews.


Last updated: 11/16/10 ag contact Andy Gulati for assistance, 291-4261
 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223