Email or Text Us

Email or text us at ask.us@fandm.edu
Email Archives & Special Collections at archives@fandm.edu

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Resources: Class Guides


AMS 160: Rights and Representations



REFERENCE RESOURCES

Women and equality in the workplace
REF HD 6095 .G48 2003

Encyclopedia of the First Amendment
REF KF 4770 .E53 2009

The Encyclopedia of Censorship
REF Z 657 .G73 2005

Banned in the U.S.A.
REF Z 658 .U5 F64 2002

Censorship: a World Encyclopedia
REF Z 658 .W675 C38 2000



Where to Discover BOOKS in the Library Catalog and Beyond

Choose the Books & More tab on the library home page. Click on "More Search Options" to access all catalog search functions.

If you need or would like to discover more books after searching the F&M Library Catalog, search WorldCat, a global library catalog.

Use E-Z Borrow, a regional expedited book-sharing network, to borrow books not available at F&M. [E-Z Borrow requires your F&M ID barcode number.]


Where to discover LEGAL INFORMATION and SCHOLARLY ARTICLES

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

JStor
A collection of full-text articles from over 1500 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years.

Legal Periodicals Full Text
Indexes articles from 620 legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar associations, law reviews, and government publications. Choose LEGAL from the Subject Area on the search screen.

Legal Research (Lexis-Nexis)
Legal resources, including law reviews, state and federal case law, patent law, and law school directories.

Project Muse
Access to contemporary scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Westlaw, Campus Research
Research service, includes: thousands of news databases arranged geographically and topically; hundreds of newswires as well as business, trade and professional journals and publications; and superior law-related resources, including both primary law and analysis.


How to ACCESS ARTICLES

If immediate access to an article does not appear to be available, do not despair! To learn if we have a subscription to the journal or periodical you need, search F&M's electronic and print journal titles here: Journal Finder.

To obtain articles from publications to which F&M does not subscribe, fill out an Interlibrary Loan request form, using the information found in the article's citation.



If you have any questions, would like further assistance, etc, contact:

Lisa Stillwell, Information Literacy Librarian,
291-3844 or lisa.stillwell@fandm.edu

Last updated: 11/10, ls

 

©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223