Where to find book reviews

General Indexes

Book Review Digest
Includes excerpts from, and citations to, thousands of book reviews annually. Reviews are indexed by author, title and subject.
Microfilm Room: 1905-2000
Online: 1983 - via FirstSearch

Book Review Index
Provides better coverage of book reviews in scholarly journals than does Book Review Digest. Reviews are indexed by author and title (in recent years).
Microfilm Room: 1965 -

Reader's Guide Abstracts
Provides abstracts of articles published in popular periodicals from the United States and Canada.
Microfilm Room: "Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature" 1900- Reviews are indexed by author.
Online: 1983 - via FirstSearch

Reader's Guide Retrospective
Comprehensive indexing of 500 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Online: 1890 - 1982.

Subject Indexes

ATLA Religion Index
Comprehensive database in religious and theological scholarship. Includes index citations, journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).
Online: 1949 - Select Document Type: Book Reviewed.

America History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Online: 1964 -

Art Abstracts
Indexes a variety of international English-language arts publications.
Ref Index Wall: "Art Index" 1929-1985. Book reviews listed at the end of each volume.
Online: Indexing, 1984 - ; Abstracting, 1994 - Select Record Type: Book Review.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals
Author and title indexes to reviews in history, political science, and sociology. Reviews indexed by author.
Microfilm Room: 1886 - 1974

General Science Abstracts
Features journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering all major scientific fields.
Online: Indexing, 1984 - ; Abstracting, 1993 - Select Record Type: Book Review.

Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international bibliography of articles covering the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Online: 1954 -

Humanities Abstracts
Indexes English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields.
Microfilm Room: "Humanities Index" 1974 - 1984. Book Reviews listed at the end of each volume.
Online: 1984 - Select Record Type: Book Review.

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
Features reviews of English language books on language and literature, history, philosophy, arts and classics.
Microfilm Room: 1960 - 1990

Index to Legal Periodicals
Contains distinct indexes of subjects, authors, cases, plus a separate book review section.
Microfilm Room: 1952 - 1981. Book Reviews listed at the end of each volume. See also: Lexis-Nexis.

Lexis-Nexis
Full-text newspapers, business and legal sources. Coverage varies per title.

Philosopher's Index
Provides abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields.
Online: 1940- Include the phrase "review article" in a keyword search.

Social Science Abstracts
Indexes English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields.
Microfilm Room: "Social Sciences Index" 1974-1983. Book Reviews listed at the end of each volume.
Online: 1983 - Select Record Type: Book Review.

Wilson Business Abstracts
Indexes international English-language business magazines covering accounting, finance, management, and small business.
Online: 1986 - Select Record Type: Book Review.

Wilson Select
Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals covering a wide array of disciplines, all in full-text.
Online: Coverage varies per title, with the earliest beginning in the mid-1980s. Select Record Type: Book Review.
Last updated: 11/16/04 ag