What is an Annotated Bibliography?


An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and other information sources. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Annotations vs. Abstracts

Annotations are descriptive and critical; they expose the author's point of view, clarity and appropriateness of expression, and authority. Abstracts are the purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes.

The Process

Creating an annotated bibliography calls for the application of a variety of intellectual skills: concise exposition, succinct analysis, and informed library research.

1. First, locate and record citations to books, periodicals, and documents that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic.

2. Briefly examine and review the actual items. Then choose those works that provide a variety of perspectives on your topic.

3. Cite the book, article, or document using the appropriate style.

4. Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the book or article. Include one or more sentences that:
(a) evaluate the authority or background of the author
(b) comment on the intended audience
(c) compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or
(d) explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.

Critically appraising books, articles, or documents

Evaluating a source can begin even before you have the source in hand. You can initially appraise a source by first examining the bibliographic citation. A bibliographic citation is a written description of a book, journal article, essay, or some other publication information. These components can help you determine the usefulness of this source for your paper.

Further information on how to evaluate print resources can be found here.

Choosing the correct format for the citations

For print resources:

MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing
(also provides APA citatation information in sections 4.2 and B.2)
Ref Desk PN147 .G444 1998
also, check here for tips on how to cite print sources

For online resources:

Electronic styles :a handbook for citing electronic information
Ref Desk PN171.F56 L5 1996
also, check here for tips on how to cite web sources


Sample annotated bibliography entry for a journal article

1. using MLA citation format:

Goldschneider, F. K., Waite, L. J., & Witsberger, C. "Nonfamily living
and the erosion of traditional family orientations among young adults."
American Sociological Review 51 (1986): 541-554.

The authors, researchers at the Rand Corporation and Brown University, use data from the National Longitudinal Surveys of Young Women and Young Men to test their hypothesis that nonfamily living by young adults alters their attitudes, values, plans, and expectations, moving them away from their belief in traditional sex roles. They find their hypothesis strongly supported in young females, while the effects were fewer in studies of young males. Increasing the time away from parents before marrying increased individualism, self-sufficiency, and changes in attitudes about families. In contrast,...

2. using APA citation format:

Goldschneider, F. K., Waite, L. J., & Witsberger, C. (1986).
Nonfamily living and the erosion of traditional family orientations
among young adults. American Sociological Review, 51, 541-554.

Annotation, same as above

3. using Electronic Styles:

Burka, Lauren P. “A Hypertext History of Multi-User Dimensions." MUD History.
1993. http://www.utopia.com/talent/lpd/muddex/essay (2 Aug. 1996).