Email or Text Us

Email or text us at
Email Archives & Special Collections at

Chat With Us

Ask us a question using the chat window to the right. Online hours:
Sunday - Thursday 10:00am - 2:00am
Friday & Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am

Frequently Asked of Us

Check our FAQ for research tips and answers to popular questions.

Visit or Call Us

Stop by the Ask Me desk at Shadek or the Circulation desk at Martin, or call at:
Shadek-Fackenthal (717) 291-4217
Martin Library (717) 291-4331

Meet With Us

Students can meet with a librarian for one-on-one, expert research assistance.

Grad Schools & Jobs

Students can consult with a librarian to research prospective employers and explore graduate school opportunities.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

College Archives:

Franklin & Marshall Historical Timeline

Time Periods

21st Century

2002: John Anderson Fry is elected 14th president of Franklin and Marshall College.

2003: Roschel Performing Arts Center opens. Philadelphia Alumni Writers House constructed. James Street Improvement District and Floyd Institute for Public Policy established.

2003: College celebrates sesquicentennial of the union between Franklin College and Marshall College in Lancaster, PA.

2004: College ends "derecognition" policy of College fraternities after 16 years. Buchanan Park renovated.

2006: The Alumni Association boasts chapters around the country and hosts activities around the world. It serves the nearly 25,000 living alumni who hold leadership positions in virtually every profession, and who enjoy the ongoing programs of the college.

2007: New all-weather synthetic turf athletic field constructed on North campus.

2008 October: New Klehr Center for Jewish Life and Ken Gramas '88 Memorial Pavilion at North Campus Athletic Turf Field dedicated.

2010: John Anderson Fry leaves Franklin and Marshall to become President of Drexel University. John Burness (F&M 1967) serves as interim president. Daniel Porterfield of Georgetown University chosen as 15th President of Franklin and Marshall College.

2011: Daniel R. Porterfield is inaugurated as 15th President of Franklin and Marshall College.

2011: New College House opens. It is the first Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design-certified building on campus, highlighting the College's commitment to sustainability.

Go to 18th century

Go to 19th century

Go to 20th century

Go back to College Archives

08/13/12- mrl


©2010 Franklin & Marshall College Library | 450 College Ave | PO Box 3003 | Lancaster, PA 17604 | 717-291-4223